Shortlist · Fit and buying

A commuter kit shortlist: one pick per job

Bike commuter accessories, one per job: a front light, a rear light, a pump, a top-tube bag, a phone mount and tire levers, each with the fit check it needs.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money

Short answer

One pick per job: the Knog Blinder 1400 at the front, the Garmin Varia RTL515 at the rear, the CYCPLUS AS2 Pro pump, a Topeak Fuel Tank top-tube bag, the SP Connect phone mount and Park Tool's TL-1.2 tire levers. Each needs one check on your bike: the lighting rules, your valve, your top tube or rack, and your bar diameter.

How we chose

One approved pick per commuting job, chosen by the fit check that job needs:

  1. Lights for the rules where you ride, with runtime by mode. California, for example, requires a white front lamp visible from 300 feet in darkness;[1] Oregon sets 500 feet.[2] We picked lights whose makers rate runtime for each mode, because a headline figure usually belongs to the lowest mode. Magicshine, for example, rates its EVO 1700 at 2 hours on high beam and 11 hours on its lowest low beam.[3]
  2. A pump for your valve. A Presta valve has a small locknut at the top that must be unthreaded before air can enter.[4] Our pump pick's maker says it switches between Presta and Schrader without extra parts.[5]
  3. A bag for the space you have. With a rack, panniers fit by tube size: ORTLIEB's QL2.1 hooks come with inserts for 8, 10 and 12 mm rack tubes.[6] No pannier is in our catalog yet, so the pick is a top-tube bag.
  4. A mount for your bar diameter. Mount makers state ranges: Quad Lock designs its Handlebar/Stem Mount for 25-40 mm,[7] and SP Connect lists about 20-44 mm for its bike mount.[8]
  5. Levers for tubed or tubeless tires. Park Tool says the TL-1.2's narrow tip works with tubeless systems.[9]

Front light

Knog Blinder 1400 front light (2nd gen, USB-C)

Blinder 1400, light only

Pick it if: Commuters riding in the dark on bars from 22.2 to 35 mm

Why it's here
Knog rates the Blinder 1400 at 1.5 hours in High Steady and 8 hours in Low Steady, and lists a 22.2-35 mm bar mount.
Watch out
Knog's ratings, not measurements. The USB-C cable is not included. Check the lighting rules where you ride. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Knog.
Valve compatibility
Not stated
Mount diameter
22.2-35
Inflation time (measured)
Not stated
Runtime (measured)
Not stated

Values are the manufacturer's specs unless marked.

Rear light

Garmin Varia RTL515 rearview radar with tail light

Varia RTL515, radar with tail light (010-02376-00)

Pick it if: Commuters with a round seatpost

Why it's here
Garmin rates the Varia RTL515 at up to 16 hours in day flash and up to 6 hours in solid mode.
Watch out
Garmin's ratings, for the RTL515 only. Its fit on aero or D-shaped seatposts is not confirmed. Keep your bike's rear reflector too. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Garmin.
Valve compatibility
Not stated
Mount diameter
Not stated
Inflation time (measured)
Not stated
Runtime (measured)
Not stated
80

Pump for the bag

CYCPLUS AS2 Pro electric mini pump (120 psi, Presta and Schrader)

AS2 Pro, black aluminium shell

Pick it if: Commuters with Presta or Schrader valves

Why it's here
CYCPLUS says the AS2 Pro switches between Presta and Schrader without extra parts, and lists USB-C charging. CYCPLUS lists its Amazon US and Canada stores as authorized channels.
Watch out
Its fill times and gauge accuracy are CYCPLUS's claims. It gets hot at high pressure: TOUR measured 62 °C on the housing at 7 bar. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or CYCPLUS.
Valve compatibility
both
Mount diameter
Not stated
Inflation time (measured)
50 sIndependent source
Runtime (measured)
Not stated

Values are the manufacturer's specs unless marked.

Bag without a rack

Topeak Fuel Tank top-tube bag, Large (0.75 L)

Large, 0.75 L

Pick it if: Commuters without a rear rack

Why it's here
A top-tube bag behind the stem holds a phone, keys and the pump on a bike with no rack.
Watch out
We have not yet verified Topeak's figures for it; check the top-tube length behind your stem and the strap sizes Topeak lists. With a rack, panniers carry more. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Topeak.
Valve compatibility
Not stated
Mount diameter
top tube 38-52, head tube 34-75
Inflation time (measured)
Not stated
Runtime (measured)
Not stated

Values are the manufacturer's specs unless marked.

Phone mount

SP Connect Universal Bike Mount (phone, 20‑44 mm bars and stems)

Universal Bike Mount (mount only, case sold separately)

Pick it if: Commuters who navigate by phone

Why it's here
SP Connect lists tool-free attachment to bars or stems of about 20-44 mm, with flat and round adapters included.
Watch out
It needs an SP Connect case or adapter, sold separately. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or SP Connect.
Valve compatibility
Not stated
Mount diameter
20-44
Inflation time (measured)
Not stated
Runtime (measured)
Not stated

Values are the manufacturer's specs unless marked.

Tire levers

Park Tool TL‑1.2 tire lever set (3 levers)

TL-1.2 set of 3

Pick it if: Every commuter

Why it's here
Park Tool's TL-1.2 levers come as a set of three with a spoke hook, and Park Tool says the narrow tip works with tubeless systems.
Watch out
Levers alone do not fix a flat: add patches suited to your tube or a spare tube. Your rim maker's instructions apply. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Park Tool.
Valve compatibility
Not stated
Mount diameter
Not stated
Inflation time (measured)
Not stated
Runtime (measured)
Not stated

Tire levers, second option

Topeak Shuttle Lever Pro magnetic tire levers (set of 3)

Shuttle Lever Pro, set of 3 (TTL010)

Pick it if: Commuters when the Park Tool set is unavailable

Why it's here
Topeak's US shop lists the Shuttle Lever Pro as three polymer levers held together by magnets, 41 g for the set, for road and MTB tires.
Watch out
Topeak says nothing about tubeless use. Levers alone do not fix a flat: add patches suited to your tube or a spare tube. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Topeak.
Valve compatibility
Not stated
Mount diameter
Not stated
Inflation time (measured)
Not stated
Runtime (measured)
Not stated

What to add or check

  • A puncture repair that suits your tubes or tubeless setup.
  • Your reflectors. Keep the reflectors your bike came with as well as the lights.
  • Pump heat. TOUR measured the AS2 Pro's housing at 62 °C at 7 bar.[10] If you ride TPU tubes with plastic valves, read the pump heat guide.
  • No safety promise. A Cochrane review found that trials of visibility aids measured driver detection, and none measured collisions or injuries.[11]

Next

Questions

Is this everything I need to commute?

It covers lights, inflation, carrying, a phone and tire removal. Add a puncture repair that suits your tubes, and check the lighting rules where you ride. See the commuter kit checklist.

Why no pannier?

None was approved for this site on 2026-10-14. Panniers fit by rack tube size: ORTLIEB's QL2.1 hooks come with inserts for 8, 10 and 12 mm tubes.[6]

Will these lights keep me safe?

We make no safety promise. A Cochrane review found that trials of visibility aids measured driver detection, and none measured collisions or injuries.[11]

Sources and changes

  1. California Vehicle Code Section 21201 (Public.Law, reproducing the California Vehicle Code) · Standard · California bicycle equipment rules, including lamp and reflector requirements in darkness (subdivisions d and e). · checked 14 Oct 2026
  2. ORS 815.280 - Violation of bicycle equipment requirements (Public.Law, reproducing the Oregon Revised Statutes) · Standard · Oregon bicycle lighting equipment requirements during limited-visibility conditions. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  3. EVO 1700 Underneath-Mount Bike Light (Magicshine) · Manufacturer · Maker specifications and mode/runtime table for the EVO 1700. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  4. Tire, Wheel, and Inner Tube Fit Standards (Park Tool) · Official documentation · Valve types (Presta, Schrader, Woods/Dunlop), stem diameters, removable cores, rim holes. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  5. AS2 Pro Tiny E-Pump (CYCPLUS) · Manufacturer · AS2 Pro maker specs and claims; maker product page with direct online sale. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  6. Quick-Lock Systems | ORTLIEB · Manufacturer · ORTLIEB US overview of QL2.1, QL2.2 and QL3.1 mounting systems, tube diameters and QL2.2 load. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  7. Handlebar/Stem Mount (Quad Lock) · Manufacturer · Quad Lock support article (Help Center API rendering of https://support.quadlockcase.com/hc/en-us/articles/6880481474063-Handlebar-Stem-Mount): diameter range, mounting hardware, adaptors, dampener compatibility. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  8. Universal Bike Mount (SP Connect) · Manufacturer · SP Connect store product page, SKU 53342: bar/stem diameter range and included adapters. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  9. TL-1.2 Tire Lever Set (Park Tool) · Manufacturer · Park Tool product page for TL-1.2/TL-1.2C tire levers. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  10. Electronic air pumps in test: Cycplus AS2 Pro powerful but hot (TOUR) · Independent source · May 2026 AS2 Pro timing and housing temperature test on 700x30c. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  11. Increasing pedestrian and cyclist visibility to prevent deaths and injuries (Cochrane) · Independent source · Systematic review summary (2006, searches to 2009) of visibility aids and driver detection outcomes. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  12. Blinder 1400 Front Bike Light (Knog) · Manufacturer · Maker specifications for the Blinder 1400 (US store page). · checked 14 Oct 2026
  13. Varia RTL515/RTL516 Specifications (Garmin) · Manufacturer · Garmin manual specifications: battery life, lumens by mode, temperatures, water rating. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  14. Where to Buy (CYCPLUS) · Manufacturer · Maker's list of authorized Amazon stores by country and its AliExpress official store label. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  15. Shuttle Lever Pro (TTL010) (Topeak) · Manufacturer · Topeak US shop (run by its US distributor): lever count, lengths, material, weight, tire types. · checked 28 Oct 2026
  • : First published.
  • : Added the Topeak Shuttle Lever Pro as a second lever option, because the Park Tool set's Amazon listing is sold by a dealer.

Next editorial review due 13 Jan 2027.