Shortlist · Lights

Bike lights with published runtime by mode

Two front lights and a radar tail light whose makers publish runtime for each mode, so you can plan by the mode you will use. Maker ratings, labeled as theirs.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money

Short answer

For the front, the Knog Blinder 1400: Knog rates it at 1.5 hours in High Steady and 8 hours in Low Steady.[1] If you mount under the bar, the Magicshine EVO 1300: Magicshine rates it at 2 hours in Turbo and 15 hours on its lowest low beam.[2] For the rear, the Garmin Varia RTL515: Garmin rates it at up to 16 hours in day flash and up to 6 hours solid.[3] Both are maker ratings, so plan around the mode you will actually use.

How we chose

A light is on this list only if:

  1. Its maker publishes runtime for each mode, not just one headline figure. The spread is wide. Magicshine rates its EVO 1700 at 2 hours on high beam and 11 hours on its lowest low beam,[4] and CatEye rates the AMPP200 at about 1.5 hours on high and about 13 hours on low.[5]
  2. We can match the exact model to the maker's figures. Neighboring models differ: Garmin's RTL516 has different ratings from the RTL515. Of the lights approved for this site on 2026-10-14, only these three match verified maker figures. The Ravemen PR1400 and Magicshine SEEMEE 200 V3.0 wait for that check.
  3. The mount is stated. Knog lists a 22.2-35 mm bar mount for the Blinder 1400.[1] Magicshine says the EVO 1300 hangs underneath the bar on an out-front mount, but names no bar diameter.[2]

How to read the numbers: under ANSI/PLATO FL 1, runtime runs until output falls to 10 percent of its 30-second value, so it is not time at full brightness.[6] Following FL 1 is voluntary, and each company runs its own tests.[6] Other makers state runtime with conditions too: Ravemen says the CR1000's runtime can be extended with an external power source,[7] and Fenix says the BC25R's IP66 rating applies only with the port cover in place.[8]

Front light with runtime by steady mode

Knog Blinder 1400 front light (2nd gen, USB-C)

Blinder 1400, light only

Pick it if: Commuters who ride in the dark on bars from 22.2 to 35 mm

Why it's here
Knog rates the Blinder 1400 at 1,350 lumens for 1.5 hours in High Steady and 230 lumens for 8 hours in Low Steady, from a 5,000 mAh battery, and lists a 22.2-35 mm bar mount.
Watch out
These are Knog's ratings, not measurements, and this list does not judge its beam shape. Knog's USB-C charging cable is not included. Its water claims are Knog's own. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Knog.
Valve compatibility
Not stated
Mount diameter
22.2-35
Inflation time (measured)
Not stated
Runtime (measured)
Not stated

Values are the manufacturer's specs unless marked.

Under-bar front light with runtime by beam mode

Magicshine EVO 1300 under-mount front light (cut-off low beam, USB-C)

EVO 1300 front light

Pick it if: Commuters who want a front light under an out-front mount, with a low-beam mode for long rides

Why it's here
Magicshine rates the EVO 1300 at 1,300 lumens for 2 hours in Turbo high beam, and on low beam at 650 lumens for 3 hours, 300 lumens for 6 hours and 100 lumens for 15 hours, from a 3,200 mAh battery charged over USB-C.
Watch out
These are Magicshine's ratings, not measurements. It hangs underneath an out-front mount, and Magicshine states no bar diameter, so check your mount. Choose the EVO 1300, not the EVO 1700. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Magicshine.
Valve compatibility
Not stated
Mount diameter
Not stated
Inflation time (measured)
Not stated
Runtime (measured)
120 min

Values are from independent sources unless marked.

Rear radar tail light with runtime by mode

Garmin Varia RTL515 rearview radar with tail light

Varia RTL515, radar with tail light (010-02376-00)

Pick it if: Riders who want a rear light with a stated day-flash and solid runtime

Why it's here
Garmin rates the Varia RTL515 at 65 lumens for up to 16 hours in day flash and 20 lumens for up to 6 hours solid, and specifies charging between 0 and 45 °C.
Watch out
Ratings are Garmin's, for the RTL515 only; the RTL516 differs. Radar is not a safety guarantee, and its fit on aero or D-shaped seatposts is not confirmed. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Garmin.
Valve compatibility
Not stated
Mount diameter
Not stated
Inflation time (measured)
Not stated
Runtime (measured)
Not stated

What these lights do not settle

  • The rules where you ride. California requires a white front lamp visible from 300 feet in darkness,[9] Oregon 500 feet.[10] Check your own state or province.
  • Safety outcomes. A Cochrane review found that trials of visibility aids measured driver detection and recognition, and none measured collisions or injuries.[11]
  • Beam shape. This list is about runtime, not beam shape. If you want a cutoff beam, read cutoff beams and StVZO.

Next

Questions

Why runtime by mode rather than lumens?

Because you ride in one mode at a time, and the headline runtime usually belongs to the dimmest. Knog rates the Blinder 1400 at 1.5 hours in High Steady but 8 hours in Low Steady.[1]

Does a radar tail light make me safer?

We cannot say. A Cochrane review of visibility aids found trials measured driver detection, and none measured collisions or injuries. Garmin's ratings describe the light, not an outcome.[11]

Are these lights legal where I ride?

Rules differ by place: California sets 300 feet for a front lamp and Oregon 500 feet. Check the rules where you ride; no light is legal everywhere.[9][10]

Sources and changes

  1. Blinder 1400 Front Bike Light (Knog) · Manufacturer · Maker specifications for the Blinder 1400 (US store page). · checked 14 Oct 2026
  2. EVO 1300 Bike Light (Magicshine) · Manufacturer · Maker specifications and mode/runtime table for the EVO 1300. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  3. Varia RTL515/RTL516 Specifications (Garmin) · Manufacturer · Garmin manual specifications: battery life, lumens by mode, temperatures, water rating. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  4. EVO 1700 Underneath-Mount Bike Light (Magicshine) · Manufacturer · Maker specifications and mode/runtime table for the EVO 1700. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  5. AMPP200 / ORB (CatEye) · Manufacturer · Maker specifications for the AMPP200 headlight and ORB rear light set. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  6. ANSI Information (Streamlight) · Manufacturer · Flashlight maker's explanation of ANSI/PLATO FL 1 definitions (output, runtime, beam distance, peak intensity, impact, water). · checked 14 Oct 2026
  7. CR1000 (Ravemen) · Manufacturer · Maker specifications for the CR1000 front light. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  8. Fenix BC25R Rechargeable Bike Light (Fenix Lighting) · Manufacturer · Maker specifications for the BC25R. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  9. California Vehicle Code Section 21201 (Public.Law, reproducing the California Vehicle Code) · Standard · California bicycle equipment rules, including lamp and reflector requirements in darkness (subdivisions d and e). · checked 14 Oct 2026
  10. ORS 815.280 - Violation of bicycle equipment requirements (Public.Law, reproducing the Oregon Revised Statutes) · Standard · Oregon bicycle lighting equipment requirements during limited-visibility conditions. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  11. Increasing pedestrian and cyclist visibility to prevent deaths and injuries (Cochrane) · Independent source · Systematic review summary (2006, searches to 2009) of visibility aids and driver detection outcomes. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  • : First published.
  • : Added the Magicshine EVO 1300 after checking Magicshine's runtime table.

Next editorial review due 13 Jan 2027.