Shortlist · Router table fences
Router table fences with a stated mounting range and port size
Approved router table fences whose makers state the table width, top thickness or slot spacing they mount on, and the hose their dust port takes.
We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money
Short answer
Four approved fences state where they mount. For edge-rail tables such as JessEm or SawStop, or slots 16-3/4 to 33-1/4 in apart, choose Woodpeckers' SF-PRO Universal. For Kreg's 32 in table, the Kreg PRS1015. For other slotted tables, POWERTEC's 24 or 32 in fence, matched to the slot spacing POWERTEC states.
How we chose
A fence is on this list only if:
- The maker states a mounting range. Woodpeckers says the SF-PRO Universal fits tables whose slots are between 16-3/4 and 33-1/4 in apart, including edge-rail tables such as JessEm and SawStop.[1] Kreg lists the PRS1015 for single-side mounting on tops 3/4 to 1-1/2 in thick, designed for a 32 in wide table with the bit hole 16 in from the right side.[2] POWERTEC states a slot-spacing range for each of its two fences.
- The maker states exclusions where it has them. Kreg's Q&A says the PRS1015 does not fit the SawStop RT-F27 or the Ryobi A25RT03.[2]
- The port size is stated. Woodpeckers sizes its port for a 2-1/2 in dust collection hose or a 2-1/4 in shop vac hose.[1] A Kreg Q&A answer gives the PRS1015 port as 2-1/2 in.[2] INCRA gives no diameter for its Wonder Fence port,[3] and the Wonder Fence is not in our approved catalog.
- It is in our approved catalog with a store listing.
Widest stated slot range, edge-rail tables
Woodpeckers SF-PRO Universal Router Table Fence (SFPRO‑U‑25)
Pick it if: JessEm, SawStop and other tables with slots in that range
- Why it's here
- Woodpeckers says the SF-PRO Universal (SFPRO-U-25) fits tables whose slots are 16-3/4 to 33-1/4 in apart, including edge-rail tables such as JessEm and SawStop, and sizes its port for a 2-1/2 in collector hose or a 2-1/4 in shop vac hose.
- Watch out
- Woodpeckers' page did not show the fence length or a top thickness range. Its 0.001 in dial graduations are a scale, not measured accuracy. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Woodpeckers.
- Insert-plate outline (e.g. 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in)
- Not stated
- Plate thickness
- Not stated
- Plate corner radius
- Not stated
- Router motor body diameter
- Not stated
For Kreg's 32 in table and tops like it
Kreg PRS1015 Precision Router Table Fence
Pick it if: Kreg PRS1025 tops and similar 32 in tables
- Why it's here
- Kreg lists the PRS1015 as 36 in overall, for single-side mounting on tops 3/4 to 1-1/2 in thick, designed for a 32 in wide table with the bit hole 16 in from the right side. A Kreg Q&A answer gives its port as 2-1/2 in.
- Watch out
- Kreg's Q&A says it does not fit the SawStop RT-F27 or the Ryobi A25RT03 and is not suited to the PRS2100 benchtop table. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Kreg.
- Insert-plate outline (e.g. 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in)
- Not stated
- Plate thickness
- Not stated
- Plate corner radius
- Not stated
- Router motor body diameter
- Not stated
Bolt-on fence for wider tables
POWERTEC 71655 Deluxe Router Table Fence System, 32 in
Pick it if: Tables whose fence slots fall in POWERTEC's stated range
- Why it's here
- POWERTEC sells the 71655 as a 32 in fence that bolts into table slots with T-bolts and lock knobs, and states the slot spacing it takes and a 2-1/2 in port.
- Watch out
- POWERTEC's figures have not been checked against our fact register yet, and POWERTEC names no table models; measure your slot spacing and compare it with POWERTEC's page. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or POWERTEC.
- Insert-plate outline (e.g. 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in)
- Not stated
- Plate thickness
- Not stated
- Plate corner radius
- Not stated
- Router motor body diameter
- Not stated
Bolt-on fence for smaller tables
POWERTEC 71536 Deluxe Router Table Fence System, 24 in
Pick it if: Smaller tables whose slots fall in POWERTEC's stated range
- Why it's here
- The 71536 is POWERTEC's 24 in version of the same bolt-on design, with a narrower stated slot spacing and a 2-1/2 in port.
- Watch out
- As with the 71655, check POWERTEC's stated slot spacing against your own table; POWERTEC names no table models. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or POWERTEC.
- Insert-plate outline (e.g. 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in)
- Not stated
- Plate thickness
- Not stated
- Plate corner radius
- Not stated
- Router motor body diameter
- Not stated
Fit at a glance
| Fence | Mounting (maker's statement) | Port (maker's statement) |
|---|---|---|
| Woodpeckers SF-PRO Universal | Slots 16-3/4 to 33-1/4 in apart; edge-rail tables | 2-1/2 in collector or 2-1/4 in shop vac hose |
| Kreg PRS1015 | Tops 3/4 to 1-1/2 in; 32 in table, bit 16 in from right | 2-1/2 in (Kreg Q&A) |
| POWERTEC 71655 (32 in) | T-bolts in slots; range on POWERTEC's page | 2-1/2 in |
| POWERTEC 71536 (24 in) | T-bolts in slots; range on POWERTEC's page | 2-1/2 in |
Hose fit is not capture
A port that takes your hose tells you nothing about how much dust it collects. OSHA says routers are among the dustiest woodworking machines and that conventional means of exhausting them are not very effective.[4] Read what OSHA, NIOSH and IARC say about wood dust.
See the router table fences hub and fence mounting and table size.
Questions
Which fence here fits a SawStop router table?
Woodpeckers names SawStop among the edge-rail tables the SF-PRO Universal fits. Kreg's Q&A says the PRS1015 does not fit the SawStop RT-F27.[1][2]
Why is the INCRA Wonder Fence not listed?
It is not in our approved catalog yet, and INCRA gives no port diameter for it; it says the elbow fits industry-standard hoses.[3]
Will these ports collect all the dust?
No source we found measures capture for any fence port. OSHA says conventional means of exhausting routers are not very effective.[4]