Shortlist · Featherboards and hold-downs

Featherboards with a stated slot and track fit

Approved featherboards whose makers state the miter slot, T-track or fence slot they mount in, chosen for fit only, with Kreg's and Bosch's limits beside them.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money

Short answer

These eight approved featherboards are chosen for fit only. For a 3/4 x 3/8 in slot or a T-slot, choose Kreg's True-FLEX, Bow's FeatherPRO or FeatherDUO, or POWERTEC's 71468 or 71393; for fence T-track only, Bow's FencePRO or POWERTEC's 71553. None is a safety device on its own, as Kreg and Bosch both say.

How we chose

A featherboard is on this list only if:

  1. The maker states how it mounts. Kreg's True-FLEX has Wedge-Lock hardware for 3/8 x 3/4 in miter slots and T-slots.[3] Its manual covers T-track or T-slot mounting with a bolt, washer and knob, or a miter slot with a wedge lock.[1] Bow's FeatherPRO comes with a 3/4 in AnchorPRO bar for 3/8 x 3/4 in slots and can also mount to T-track,[4] with two 1-1/2 in 5/16-18 T-bolts that Bow says fit 1/4 to 3/4 in track, and a published head size.[4] Bow's FeatherDUO uses two such bars or 5/16-18 T-bolts, and stacks 3-1/2 in high with risers.[5] POWERTEC states slot and bolt sizes for its three.
  2. We repeat no safety promise. Bow's pages make kickback claims; those are Bow's marketing, and we do not repeat them. We give Kreg's and Bosch's limits instead.
  3. It is in our approved catalog with a store listing.

JessEm's Clear-Cut roller guides mount to standard 1/4 in T-slot router fences,[6] but they are not in our approved catalog yet.

Miter slot or T-slot, with maker setup rules

Kreg PRS3010 True-FLEX featherboard (single)

PRS3010, single

Pick it if: Tables with a 3/4 x 3/8 in slot or a fence T-slot

Why it's here
Kreg's True-FLEX PRS3010 has Wedge-Lock hardware for 3/8 x 3/4 in miter slots and T-slots, and its manual gives router-table placement rules: horizontal in the miter slot, vertical in a fence T-slot, never pressing against the side of the bit or straight down over it.
Watch out
Kreg's manual states it is not an anti-kickback or safety device, and gives no slot dimensions. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Kreg.
Insert-plate outline (e.g. 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in)
Not stated
Plate thickness
Not stated
Plate corner radius
Not stated
Router motor body diameter
Not stated

Two True-FLEX boards

Kreg PRS3020 True-FLEX featherboard twin pack

PRS3020, 2 featherboards

Pick it if: Setting one board in the table and one on the fence

Why it's here
The PRS3020 is two True-FLEX featherboards, which mount in a T-track or T-slot with bolt, washer and knob, or in a miter slot with a wedge lock, so one can sit in the table and one on the fence.
Watch out
Same Kreg warning: not an anti-kickback or safety device. Kreg says to use both horizontal and vertical boards only when the work is wide enough for a push stick to pass. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Kreg.
Insert-plate outline (e.g. 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in)
Not stated
Plate thickness
Not stated
Plate corner radius
Not stated
Router motor body diameter
Not stated

Miter bar or T-track, stated bolt sizes

Bow Products FeatherPRO FP1 featherboard

FeatherPRO FP1, single

Pick it if: Tables with a 3/4 x 3/8 in slot or T-track

Why it's here
Bow's FeatherPRO FP1 comes with a 3/4 in AnchorPRO miter bar for 3/8 x 3/4 in slots, and two 1-1/2 in 5/16-18 T-bolts that Bow says fit 1/4 to 3/4 in T-track, with the bolt head size published.
Watch out
Bow's kickback wording is promotional; we do not repeat it as a safety claim. Compare the stated head size with your track's channel. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Bow Products.
Insert-plate outline (e.g. 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in)
Not stated
Plate thickness
Not stated
Plate corner radius
Not stated
Router motor body diameter
Not stated

Two stacking boards for taller stock

Bow Products FeatherDUO FP3 stackable featherboard

FeatherDUO FP3 (two boards, two risers)

Pick it if: Holding taller stock against the fence from a slot or track

Why it's here
Bow's FeatherDUO FP3 uses two 3/4 in AnchorPRO miter bars for 3/8 x 3/4 in slots, or 5/16-18 T-bolts for 1/4 to 3/4 in T-track, and stacks 3-1/2 in high with risers or 1-1/2 in with T-bolts alone.
Watch out
Bow's 'best protection' wording is promotional and not a safety claim. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Bow Products.
Insert-plate outline (e.g. 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in)
Not stated
Plate thickness
Not stated
Plate corner radius
Not stated
Router motor body diameter
Not stated

Fence T-track only

Bow Products FencePRO FP4 fence featherboard, pair

FencePRO FP4, pack of 2

Pick it if: Router fences with T-track

Why it's here
Bow sells the FencePRO FP4 pair to mount in a fence's T-track with 5/16-18 T-bolts and knobs, on router, table saw or band saw fences.
Watch out
No miter bar. Bow's FP4 figures have not been checked against our fact register yet; confirm your fence has T-track that matches Bow's stated size. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Bow Products.
Insert-plate outline (e.g. 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in)
Not stated
Plate thickness
Not stated
Plate corner radius
Not stated
Router motor body diameter
Not stated

Single board, slot or T-slot

POWERTEC 71468 universal featherboard (single)

71468, 1 featherboard

Pick it if: Tables with a 3/4 x 3/8 in slot or a T-slot

Why it's here
POWERTEC sells the 71468 for 3/4 x 3/8 in miter slots or T-slots, with miter-bar brackets and 5/16-18 T-bolts.
Watch out
POWERTEC's figures have not been checked against our fact register yet; compare with your slot or track. No safety claim is made for it. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or POWERTEC.
Insert-plate outline (e.g. 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in)
Not stated
Plate thickness
Not stated
Plate corner radius
Not stated
Router motor body diameter
Not stated

Two boards, slot or T-slot, stackable

POWERTEC 71393 dual universal featherboards, 2 pack

71393, 2 featherboards

Pick it if: Tables with a 3/4 x 3/8 in slot or a T-slot

Why it's here
POWERTEC's 71393 two-pack mounts in a 3/4 x 3/8 in miter slot or a T-slot, with 5/16-18 T-bolts and spacers for stacking.
Watch out
Not yet checked against our fact register; compare with your slot or track. No safety claim is made for it. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or POWERTEC.
Insert-plate outline (e.g. 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in)
Not stated
Plate thickness
Not stated
Plate corner radius
Not stated
Router motor body diameter
Not stated

Pair for fence T-track or slot

POWERTEC 71553 fence featherboard, 2 pack

71553, 2 featherboards

Pick it if: Router fences with T-track, or a 3/4 x 3/8 in slot

Why it's here
POWERTEC's 71553 pair has 3/8 x 3/4 in miter-slot brackets and 5/16-18 T-bolts for T-slot or T-track, for router table and table saw fences.
Watch out
POWERTEC states no track width. Not yet checked against our fact register. No safety claim is made for it. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or POWERTEC.
Insert-plate outline (e.g. 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in)
Not stated
Plate thickness
Not stated
Plate corner radius
Not stated
Router motor body diameter
Not stated

Fit at a glance

FeatherboardMiter slotTrack or fence slot
Kreg PRS3010 / PRS30203/8 x 3/4 in, wedge lockT-track or T-slot, bolt and knob
Bow FP1 FeatherPRO3/4 in AnchorPRO bar5/16-18 T-bolts, 1/4 to 3/4 in track (Bow)
Bow FP3 FeatherDUOTwo 3/4 in AnchorPRO bars5/16-18 T-bolts
Bow FP4 FencePRONoneFence T-track, 5/16-18 T-bolts
POWERTEC 71468 / 713933/4 x 3/8 in bracketsT-slot, 5/16-18 T-bolts
POWERTEC 715533/8 x 3/4 in bracketsT-slot or T-track, 5/16-18 T-bolts

Placement belongs to the maker

Kreg's manual allows featherboards horizontally in the miter slot and vertically in a fence T-slot at the infeed and outfeed ends of the bit, but not pressing directly against the side of the bit or straight down over it.[1] Follow the setup in your featherboard's own manual. See featherboard placement and limits and the featherboards hub.

Questions

Which of these is safest?

We rank none of them for safety. Kreg's manual says its featherboard is not an anti-kickback or safety device, and Bosch says featherboards are not intended to hold the work in place alone while the bit turns.[1][2]

Do I need T-track to use these?

No. Kreg's True-FLEX and Bow's FeatherPRO and FeatherDUO also mount in a 3/8 x 3/4 in miter slot, with Kreg's wedge lock or Bow's AnchorPRO bar.[3][4][5]

Where are JessEm's Clear-Cut guides?

Not in our approved catalog yet. JessEm's Clear-Cut Stock Guides are roller guides that mount to standard 1/4 in T-slot router fences, for router tables only.[6]

Sources and changes

  1. True-FLEX Featherboard Owner's Manual (PRS3010/PRS3020) (Kreg Tool Company) · Official documentation · Mounting, setup, router-table and tablesaw positioning, maker warnings (English pages 1-7) · checked 13 Oct 2026
  2. RA1181 Operating/Safety Instructions (Robert Bosch Tool Corporation) · Official documentation · RA1181 manual (English pages 2-32): insert rings, featherboards, starter pin and guard, vacuum port, miter slot · checked 13 Oct 2026
  3. True-FLEX Featherboard - Single PRS3010 (Kreg Tool Company) · Manufacturer · PRS3010 mounting and material · checked 13 Oct 2026
  4. FeatherPRO Featherboard (Bow Products) · Manufacturer · Bow FP1 specs, maker claims and Amazon link · checked 13 Oct 2026
  5. FeatherDUO Stackable Featherboard – Bow Products · Manufacturer · FP3 mounting hardware and stack heights · checked 13 Oct 2026
  6. JessEm Clear-Cut Stock Guides - Premium Router Table Roller Guides (JessEm Tool Company) · Manufacturer · Router-table Clear-Cut guides design and mounting · checked 13 Oct 2026
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 12 Jan 2027.