Guide · Rack pins, band pegs and small hardware

Hole diameter vs pin diameter: two different numbers

Rack makers print the hole, the pin or both, and they are not the same number. How to read each, with examples from Titan, REP, Bells of Steel and Sunny.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money

Short answer

The hole in your upright and the pin on your attachment are two different numbers. Titan, for example, lists 11/16 in holes on the T-3 and a 5/8 in pin for its T-3 J-hooks. Read which one a maker is printing, record both, and choose attachments by the pin size and host list the attachment maker states, never by the hole alone.

Makers print the hole, the pin or both

A listing that says "5/8 in" might mean the hole, the pin or the bolt class. Look for the word next to it:

  • Hole diameter: the opening in the upright.
  • Pin diameter: the shaft on the attachment that passes through the hole.
  • Hardware: often the bolt and pin class of a whole rack line, not a measured hole.

On one system the hole is usually a little larger than the pin, so the pin can pass through. How much larger is the maker's design choice, and no maker we found publishes a fit tolerance.

The Titan T-3 example

Titan lists the T-3 Series with 2 x 3 in uprights and 11/16 in holes.[1] Titan's support page states a 5/8 in pin size for its T-3 J-hooks (JHOOK_T3, SKU 401348).[2] The same support page gives an 11/16 in hole size for the mounting bracket of its SPHPUBAR_T3X3TS pull-up bar.[2] The X-3 also lists 11/16 in holes.[3]

So a T-3 owner who reads "11/16 in" and shops for 11/16 in pins is reading the wrong number. The maker's J-hook pin is 5/8 in.

What the conversions say

All of these are calculated from the exact inch (25.4 mm):[4]

SizeCalculated
5/8 in15.875 mm, slightly less than 16 mm
11/16 in17.4625 mm, about 1.59 mm (1/16 in) larger than 5/8 in
3/4 in19.05 mm
1 in25.4 mm

5/8 in and 16 mm are not the same number, even when a maker prints them side by side.[4] The 1/16 in between an 11/16 in hole and a 5/8 in pin does not, by itself, tell you an attachment fits or locks.

When the maker gives two hole sizes

Titan gives the T-2 hole size as 26 mm in its spec table and as 1 in holes in its description.[5] 26 mm is about 1.024 in, so "1 in" is a rounded label. Record both.

REP's ISO arm FAQ, an undated maker PDF, says the PR-4000 version of the arms fits an 18 mm hole and the PR-5000 V2 version fits a 27 mm hole.[6] REP's rack guide lists those racks by hardware class (5/8 in and 1 in), not by hole size.[7] The FAQ figures are generation-specific; ask REP which applies to your rack.

Keyholes

Bells of Steel says Hydra racks use 5/8 in holes and Manticore racks use 1 in holes.[8] It also says Manticore side holes combine a 1 in opening with a 5/8 in opening so 5/8 in Hydra attachments can pin in.[8] That keyhole statement covers Bells of Steel parts on Bells of Steel racks only.

By system

SystemHole the maker listsPin or hardware the maker lists
Titan T-311/16 in[1]5/8 in J-hook pin[2]
Titan X-311/16 in[3]not stated on that page
Titan T-226 mm and "1 in"[5]not stated
Bells of Steel Hydra5/8 in[8]Hydra parts
Bells of Steel Manticore1 in, with 5/8 in keyhole side holes[8]Manticore parts
Sunny SF-XF99333/4 in hardware peg hole[9]not stated

Sunny lists a 3/4 in hardware peg hole on its SF-XF9933 half rack.[9] That is 19.05 mm, so it is not a 5/8 in system.

Can a smaller pin go in a bigger hole?

Follow the attachment maker's stated host list and pin size. Never swap in a thinner pin, add a homemade sleeve or shim, or drill or ream a hole. If the maker does not list your rack or hole size, ask before you buy.

Pins and hooks that state their size

Picks that fit3 products

Titan T-3 J-Hooks: Titan T-3 racks only. Bells of Steel magnetic pins: the Hydra pin (MAG-PIN-HDR) for Hydra racks with 5/8 in holes, the Manticore pin (PIN-MAG-MTC) for Manticore racks with 1 in holes; Bells of Steel states no load rating for either pin.

More on choosing

On Amazon, check that Ships from / Sold by is Amazon.com or the brand.

Next

Questions

Is a 5/8 in rack the same as a 16 mm rack?

No. 5/8 in works out to 15.875 mm, slightly less than 16 mm. Some makers print 16 mm beside 5/8 in as a rounded label; treat them as different numbers.[4]

My rack says 11/16 in holes. Which pin size do I need?

Use the pin size the attachment maker states for your rack. Titan lists 11/16 in holes on the T-3 and a 5/8 in pin for its T-3 J-hooks, so the hole and the pin are different numbers on the same system.[1][2]

Can a smaller pin go in a bigger hole?

Only if the attachment maker lists your rack or hole size as a host. Never improvise with a smaller pin, a sleeve or a shim of your own.

What does Titan's T-2 hole measure?

Titan gives it as 26 mm in its spec table and as 1 in holes in its description. Record both and ask Titan which applies to your rack.[5]

Sources and changes

  1. T-3 Series Power Rack 82" 36" (Titan Fitness) · Manufacturer · T-3 upright size, 11/16 in holes, Westside front pattern, 6 in side pattern. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  2. Rack Accessories > T-3 Series (Titan Fitness) · Manufacturer · Titan support Q&A table for T-3 Series rack accessories by MPN/SKU. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  3. Scratch and Dent - X-3 Series Bolt-Down Uprights 2-Pack (Titan Fitness) · Manufacturer · X-3 bolt-down upright size, 11/16 in holes, Westside front, 6 in side. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  4. SI Units - Length (NIST Office of Weights and Measures) · Standard · Definition of the inch as exactly 25.4 mm. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  5. T-2 Series Power Rack (Titan Fitness) · Manufacturer · T-2 upright size, 26 mm / 1 in holes, 2 in on-center spacing, capacities. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  6. REP ISO Arm FAQ (REP Fitness) · Manufacturer · ISO arm fit on 75 x 75 mm REP racks; PR-4000 18 mm hole, PR-5000 V2 27 mm hole. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  7. Rack Guide (REP Fitness) · Manufacturer · Upright size, gauge, hole spacing, hardware size for PR-5000, PR-4000, PR-1100, PR-1000 (PR-1050 section truncated). · checked 9 Oct 2026
  8. 2x2 vs 3x3 Power Rack: Will It Fit? (Bells of Steel) · Manufacturer · Bells of Steel tubing sizes, Hydra/Manticore hole sizes, Manticore side keyholes. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  9. Power Zone Half Rack Strength Cage SF-XF9933 (Sunny Health & Fitness) · Manufacturer · SF-XF9933 peg hole diameter. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 8 Jan 2027.