Comparison · J-cups and J-hooks

J-cups compared: upright, pin size, liner and rating

Three J-cups whose makers state the upright, pin size, load rating and lock, compared by which racks they fit and how each maker words its rating.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money

Short answer

Choose by your rack first. On a Titan T-3, Titan's own T-3 J-Hooks are the ones its maker lists. On a Sunny Powerzone cage that Sunny names, choose the SF-XFA007. On any other rack, Synergee's J-cups are sold by upright size with a 5/8 in / 1 in converter option, so measure and pick the matching variant. Read each rating in its maker's scope; they are not directly comparable.

Choose Synergee if your rack is not on any maker's named list

Sold by upright size (2x2, 2x3 or 3x3 in) with a 5/8 in / 1 in converter option, a knob lock in the manual, a UHMW-lined shelf and a 750 lb per-pair rating with both cups at equal heights.

Limitation: Synergee names sizes, not rack models, so you must measure; the NC versions take 5/8 in holes only, and the converter must be in the variant you buy.

Check price on Amazon

Choose the Titan T-3 J-Hooks for a Titan T-3 rack

Titan names the T-3 Series as the host and states a 5/8 in pin for these J-hooks, which mount with a pin into the upright and rotate down.

Limitation: Titan lists them for T-3 racks only; on any other 2x3 rack they are outside the maker's host list.

Check price on Amazon

Choose the Sunny SF-XFA007 for a listed Sunny Powerzone cage

Sunny names six Powerzone models as hosts and states 2x2 in columns, 0.79 in holes and bolt, and safety latches.

Limitation: Sunny does not say whether its 1,000 lb figure is per hook or per pair, and lists only its own cages.

Check price on Amazon

How we chose these three

A J-cup made this comparison only if its maker states four things: the upright size, the pin or hole size, a load rating and how it locks or mounts. Three approved J-cups meet that bar today. Fit comes only from each maker's host list or stated sizes; we never widen it.

Fit first

Synergee J-cupsTitan T-3 J-HooksSunny SF-XFA007
Uprights the maker states2x2, 2x3 or 3x3 in[1]2x3 in (T-3)[2]2x2 in
Host listNone by name; sold by sizeTitan T-3 SeriesSix named Sunny Powerzone cages
Hole or pin5/8 in peg, or 1 in with the converter[1]5/8 in pin for 11/16 in holes[3]0.79 in holes and bolt
Lock or mountAdjustment knob[4]Pin into the upright, hook rotates downSafety latches

Titan lists the T-3 with 11/16 in holes,[2] and states a 5/8 in pin for these J-hooks.[3] The hole and the pin are separate numbers; see our hole vs pin guide.

Synergee sells some versions without the converter. If your rack has 1 in holes, confirm the converter is in the variant you choose before relying on it.[1]

Rating, in each maker's scope

  • Synergee: a pair rated at 750 lb combined when both cups are set at equal heights.[1]
  • Titan T-3 J-Hooks: Titan lists a combined capacity per pair on its product page; see the table below for the figure.
  • Sunny SF-XFA007: Sunny lists up to 1,000 lb and does not say whether that is per hook or per pair.

These are three different scopes. Do not rank the J-cups by the biggest number, and do not divide a pair rating into a per-cup figure. Our load ratings guide explains the terms.

Liner

Synergee lines the resting shelf and back plate with UHMW plastic and lists a 3.4 in shelf on its 3x3 cup and 3.3 in on its 2x2 and 2x3 versions.[1] Synergee says the lining protects knurling and bar finish; that is the maker's description, and we found no published wear data comparing liners.

Comparing 3 products.

J-cups compared: upright, pin size, liner and rating: attributes and evidence
AttributeSynergee J-Cups, pair (2x2, 2x3 or 3x3; 5/8 in or 1 in converter) Titan Fitness T‑3 Series J-Hooks, pair (SKU 401348) Sunny Health & Fitness J-Hooks barbell holder, 2‑piece set (SF‑XFA007)
Upright outer size2 x 2 in, 2 x 3 in, 3 x 3 in (Manufacturer spec)2 x 3 (Manufacturer spec)2 x 2 (Manufacturer spec)
Hole diameter5/8 in, or 1 in with the converter version; 5/8 in only on the no-converter versions (Manufacturer spec)11/16 (Seller claim)0.79 (Manufacturer spec)
Hole spacing patternNot knownNot knownNot known
Locking pin diameter and position5/8 in peg (1 in with the metal converter sleeve), locked with a rear tension knob; peg position not stated (Manufacturer spec)Pin goes into the upright and the hook rotates down; Titan support lists a 5/8 in pin for JHOOK_T3 (R147) (Manufacturer spec)0.79 in bolt diameter; safety latches (no further detail) (Manufacturer spec)
Rack depth and crossmember size (mount-over attachments)Not knownNot knownNot known
Maker-stated load rating750 lb per pair, combined, with both cups at equal heights (Manufacturer spec)2,600 lb combined capacity per pair (rackable weight capacity 2,600 lb) (Manufacturer spec)Holds barbells with plates of up to 1,000 lb (per pair or per hook not stated) (Manufacturer spec)
Rack systems the maker lists as compatibleNot knownTitan T-3 Series power racks (Manufacturer spec)Sunny SF-XF9925, Sunny SF-XF9931, Sunny SF-XF9933, Sunny SF-XF921041, Sunny SF-XF920020, Sunny SF-XF920063 (Manufacturer spec)

Values marked as not known are not stated by the maker. We have not handled or load-checked any of these J-cups.

Who should choose which

  • Titan T-3 owners: the Titan T-3 J-Hooks, because Titan names your rack.
  • Owners of a Sunny Powerzone cage Sunny lists: the SF-XFA007.
  • Everyone else with 2x2, 2x3 or 3x3 in uprights: Synergee, in the variant that matches your measured upright and hole class.
  • REP, Rogue or Bells of Steel owners: start with your rack maker's own cups. REP says its 1000 Series cups use 1 in pins on 2x2 uprights,[5] its Round Sandwich cups use 5/8 in pins on the 4000 Series,[6] Rogue sells its Ghost Roller cups in separate 1 in and 5/8 in versions,[7] and Bells of Steel sells separate Hydra and Manticore pairs.[8] None of those is in our approved catalog yet.

On Amazon, check that "Ships from / Sold by" is Amazon.com or the brand before you buy.

Next

Questions

Which of these J-cups fits my rack?

The one whose maker lists your rack or your measured upright and hole size. Titan's fit only the T-3, Sunny's only the Powerzone models Sunny names, and Synergee's any rack whose upright and hole class match a Synergee variant.

Is Synergee's 750 lb rating per cup?

No. Synergee rates a pair at 750 lb combined when both cups are set at equal heights.[1]

Why not the REP, Bells of Steel or Rogue J-cups?

They are not in our approved catalog yet. Their makers' fit and rating details are in our J-cup guides.

Can I compare the ratings directly?

No. Per pair at equal heights, combined and unstated scopes are different measures. Choose by fit and lock first, and read each rating in the maker's own words.

Sources and changes

  1. Synergee J-Cups (Synergee Fitness) · Manufacturer · J-cup sizes, hole converter, per-pair capacity, materials. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  2. T-3 Series Power Rack 82" 36" (Titan Fitness) · Manufacturer · T-3 upright size, 11/16 in holes, Westside front pattern, 6 in side pattern. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  3. Rack Accessories > T-3 Series (Titan Fitness) · Manufacturer · Titan support Q&A table for T-3 Series rack accessories by MPN/SKU. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  4. Synergee J-Cup Manual (Synergee Fitness) · Official documentation · Diagram instructions for knob, 1-inch converter and rack installation. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  5. Standard J-Cups (REP Fitness) · Manufacturer · 1000 Series J-cups: host list, 2 x 2 in / 1 in pin, 700 lb rackable capacity. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  6. Round Sandwich J-Cups (REP Fitness) · Manufacturer · 4000 Series round sandwich J-cups: 3 x 3 in / 5/8 in pins, 1,000 lb. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  7. Ghost Roller J-Cups 2.0 - 1" Pin (Rogue Fitness) · Manufacturer · 1 in pin version, Monster Series compatibility (Rogue UK store). · checked 9 Oct 2026
  8. Sandwich J-Cups (Bells of Steel) · Manufacturer · Sandwich J-cup variants by upright/hole size, insert material, combined capacity. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 8 Jan 2027.