Shortlist · Rack pins, band pegs and small hardware

Rack pins with the diameter and shaft length stated

Approved magnetic rack pins whose maker states the hole size and shaft length and names the rack line they are for, with what the maker does not publish.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money

Short answer

Two approved rack pins state their hole size and shaft length and name the rack line they are made for. Choose Bells of Steel's Hydra pin for a Hydra rack with 5/8 in holes, or its Manticore pin for a Manticore rack with 1 in holes. Neither has a published load rating, so use them as their maker intends and keep any failsafe your attachment's manual shows.

How we chose

A pin is on this list only if:

  1. The maker states the hole size it is for. Near-miss sizes are not the same pin. A 5/8 in pin is 15.875 mm, slightly less than the 16 mm figure some makers print beside it,[1] and an 11/16 in hole is about 1/16 in larger than 5/8 in.[1] Force USA, for example, prints its accessory holes as "5/8 in (16 mm)".[2]
  2. The maker states the shaft length. A pin must pass fully through the upright and the attachment. For comparison, Oak Club sells its MagPin 3 in 1 in and 5/8 in shaft sizes with 4 1/2 in of usable shaft length.[3]
  3. The maker names the rack line. Bells of Steel uses 5/8 in holes on Hydra racks and 1 in holes on Manticore racks.[4]
  4. It is in our approved catalog with a store listing.

Two pins met this bar on 2026-10-09. We do not add others to fill the list.

Magnetic pin for Hydra racks (5/8 in holes)

Bells of Steel magnetic rack attachment pin, Hydra (3x3, 5/8 in holes), 5.0 in shaft, single (MAG-PIN-HDR)

Hydra, 5/8 in holes, 5.0 in shaft, single

Pick it if: Bells of Steel Hydra owners

Why it's here
Bells of Steel makes this pin (MAG-PIN-HDR) for its Hydra racks, which use 3x3 in uprights with 5/8 in holes, with a 5.0 in stainless shaft and an anodized aluminum magnetic head.
Watch out
Sold singly. Bells of Steel publishes no load rating, and its warranty gives pins 90 days. Made for Hydra racks; do not assume it fits another brand's 5/8 in holes. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Bells of Steel.
Upright outer size
3 x 3
Hole diameter
5/8
Hole spacing pattern
Not stated
Locking pin diameter and position
For 5/8 in holes; 5.0 in shaft (5.75 in overall), stainless body, magnetic aluminum head holds against the upright; pin diameter not stated

Values are the manufacturer's specs unless marked.

Magnetic pin for Manticore racks (1 in holes)

Bells of Steel magnetic rack attachment pin, Manticore (3x3, 1 in holes), 5.1 in shaft, single (PIN-MAG-MTC)

Manticore, 1 in holes, 5.1 in shaft, single

Pick it if: Bells of Steel Manticore owners

Why it's here
Bells of Steel makes this pin (PIN-MAG-MTC) for its Manticore racks, which use 3x3 in uprights with 1 in holes, with a 5.1 in stainless shaft and an anodized aluminum magnetic head.
Watch out
Sold singly. Bells of Steel publishes no load rating, and its warranty gives pins 90 days. Made for Manticore racks; do not assume it fits another brand's 1 in holes. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Bells of Steel.
Upright outer size
3 x 3
Hole diameter
1
Hole spacing pattern
Not stated
Locking pin diameter and position
For 1 in holes; 5.1 in shaft (a short S-PIN-MAG-MTC has a 1.4 in shaft), stainless body, magnetic aluminum head; pin diameter not stated

Values are the manufacturer's specs unless marked.

Fit at a glance

PinRackHole sizeShaftRating
Bells of Steel MAG-PIN-HDRHydra (3x3 in)5/8 in5.0 in, stainlessNone published
Bells of Steel PIN-MAG-MTCManticore (3x3 in)1 in5.1 in, stainlessNone published

Bells of Steel's warranty gives frames and structural welds a limited lifetime but gives pins 90 days.[5] Bells of Steel also says Manticore side holes combine a 1 in opening with a 5/8 in opening so 5/8 in Hydra attachments can pin in;[4] that statement is about its own parts only.

See the replacement pins guide and the pins and hardware hub.

Questions

Is a 16 mm pin the same as a 5/8 in pin?

No. A 5/8 in pin is 15.875 mm, slightly less than the 16 mm some makers print beside it. Treat them as different sizes and buy the pin your rack maker specifies.[1]

Are magnetic pins enough on their own?

Follow the pin maker. Oak Club says its MagPins are for experienced lifters only, and tells users to check installation before each lift and always use a failsafe method of attachment securement.[3]

Are rack pins covered by the lifetime warranty?

Not at Bells of Steel: its warranty gives frames and structural welds a limited lifetime but pins 90 days.[5]

Sources and changes

  1. SI Units - Length (NIST Office of Weights and Measures) · Standard · Definition of the inch as exactly 25.4 mm. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  2. MyRack (Force USA) · Manufacturer · MyRack upright size, accessory hole size, Westside wording. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  3. MagPin 3 (Oak Club MFG) · Manufacturer · Magnetic rack pin sizes, usable length, cautions. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  4. 2x2 vs 3x3 Power Rack: Will It Fit? (Bells of Steel) · Manufacturer · Bells of Steel tubing sizes, Hydra/Manticore hole sizes, Manticore side keyholes. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  5. Warranty (Bells of Steel USA) · Manufacturer · Bells of Steel US warranty table, eligibility and exclusions. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 8 Jan 2027.