Guide · J-cups and J-hooks
Standard vs sandwich vs roller J-cups
What standard, sandwich and roller J-cups are, what REP, Bells of Steel, Rogue and Synergee publish about each, and how to read their liners and ratings.
We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money
Short answer
A standard J-cup hooks onto the front face of the upright. A sandwich J-cup wraps the upright with plates on both sides. A roller J-cup adds a roller where the bar sits. Makers publish shapes, liners and some ratings, but no measured comparison of the styles exists that we could read. Choose by fit, the maker's rating and its stated lock first, style second.
The three styles
- Standard J-cup: a steel cup welded to a plate that sits against the front of the upright, held by a pin through the hole.
- Sandwich J-cup: two plates that sit on either side of the upright, with the cup between them, so the cup is held from both faces.
- Roller J-cup: a cup with a roller in the landing area, so the bar can roll into place.
Standard J-cups
REP says its 1000 Series standard J-cups fit the PR-1000, PR-1050 and PR-1100, are made for 2 x 2 in uprights with 1 in pins, and carry a 700 lb rackable capacity.[1] REP sells them in pairs but does not say whether the 700 lb is per cup or per pair, so we report it only as "REP lists 700 lb rackable capacity". REP mentions a plastic lining without naming the material.
Sandwich J-cups
REP says its Round Sandwich J-cups are made for 3 x 3 in 4000 Series uprights, use 5/8 in pins and have a dual-lock wraparound C-cup design.[2] REP publishes a 0.8 in landing-zone radius, 1.4 in landing width and 5.3 in landing height.[2] REP lists 1,000 lb rackable capacity, without saying per cup or per pair.[2]
Bells of Steel sells its Sandwich J-cups in separate pairs for 2.3 x 2.3 in racks with 5/8 in holes, 3x3 Hydra racks with 5/8 in holes and 3x3 Manticore racks with 1 in holes.[3] It lists thick HDPE padding as the bar-contact material in its spec list.[3] It lists a 1,000 lb combined capacity for the Hydra and Manticore versions and 880 lb combined for the 60 mm version, without stating the basis.[3] Only the Manticore version states a lock: included quick-locking mag pins.
Roller J-cups
Rogue offers the Ghost Roller J-Cups 2.0 with black composite rollers or hardened, silicon-carbide-coated medium-carbon steel rollers, and lines the front, back and lip with UHMW.[4] Rogue sells a 1 in pin version for Monster Series units and a separate 5/8 in pin version for Monster Lite units.[5] Neither page we read lists a load rating, so we attach none.
Liners
The liner is the plastic between the bar and the steel. Makers name different materials:
- Synergee lines the resting shelf and back plate of its J-cups with UHMW plastic.[6] It lists a 3.4 in resting shelf on its 3x3 cup and a 3.3 in shelf on its 2x2 and 2x3 versions.[6]
- Rogue lines the Ghost Roller 2.0 with UHMW.[4]
- Bells of Steel lists HDPE on its Sandwich J-cups.[3]
We found no published wear, friction or impact data comparing these liners. Name the liner as the maker's description, not as proof the bar or knurling will stay unmarked.
Side by side
| Style | Example | Liner the maker names | Rating as the maker words it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | REP 1000 Series (2x2, 1 in pins) | plastic lining, material not stated | 700 lb rackable capacity[1] |
| Standard | Synergee (2x2, 2x3, 3x3) | UHMW shelf and back plate | 750 lb per pair, combined, both cups at equal heights[6] |
| Sandwich | REP Round Sandwich (3x3, 5/8 in) | not stated | 1,000 lb rackable capacity[2] |
| Sandwich | Bells of Steel (60 mm, Hydra, Manticore) | HDPE per the spec list | 1,000 lb combined (Hydra, Manticore), 880 lb combined (60 mm)[3] |
| Roller | Rogue Ghost Roller 2.0 (3x3) | UHMW | none published[5] |
Ratings are not comparable across rows: "rackable", "combined" and "per pair at equal heights" are different scopes. Our load ratings guide explains each.
Which to choose
Start with fit: the upright size, hole or pin class and host list the maker states. Then read the rating in its scope and the lock the maker names. Style is a preference once those match.
No sandwich or roller J-cup is in our approved catalog yet. Synergee's standard-style cups state upright size, hole class, rating and liner:
Picks that fit1 product
Choose your upright size (2x2, 2x3 or 3x3 in). For 1 in holes, choose a converter version and confirm the converter is in the package; NC versions take 5/8 in holes only.
More on choosing
On Amazon, check that Ships from / Sold by is Amazon.com or Synergee.
Choose Synergee if your rack is not on any maker's named list
Synergee J-Cups, pair (2x2, 2x3 or 3x3; 5/8 in or 1 in converter)
Next
Questions
Are sandwich J-cups worth it?
They wrap the upright from both sides instead of hooking on one face. Makers describe the design, but we found no measured comparison of stability or bar protection between styles, so choose by fit, rating and the maker's stated lock.
Do roller J-cups have a load rating?
Not on the Rogue Ghost Roller 2.0 pages we read: Rogue lists sizes, materials and pin versions but no load rating. Do not assume one.[5]
What is UHMW?
Ultra-high-molecular-weight polyethylene, a slick, tough plastic many makers use to line J-cups. Rogue and Synergee name it as their liner; we found no published wear data comparing liners.[4][6]
Which style protects the bar knurling best?
No measured comparison exists that we could read. Makers describe their liners (UHMW, HDPE, plastic lining), and Synergee says its lining protects knurling and bar finish, but that is a maker claim, not a test result.[6]