Shortlist · Plate and bar storage
Rack plate storage with a stated per-peg rating
Approved rack plate pegs and holders whose maker states a rating per peg or holder, the sleeve size, how they mount and the racks or upright sizes they fit.
We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money
Short answer
Three approved storage options state a rating per peg or holder. Synergee's pegs pin into 2x2, 2x3 or 3x3 uprights and are rated per peg and per pair. Titan's set of four bolt-on sleeves is for T-3 and X-3 racks. Sunny's holder is for the Sunny racks it names, with a lower rating. Choose by mount and host first, then by sleeve and rating.
How we chose
Storage is on this list only if:
- The maker states a rating per peg, sleeve or holder. A whole-unit figure does not tell you what one horn can take. Synergee rates its pegs at 250 lb per peg and 500 lb per pair.[1] Titan rates its TITAN Series holders at 330 lb per sleeve[2] and its T-2 holders at 250 lb per holder.[3] By contrast, REP rates its 1000 Series Weight Storage at up to 2,000 lb for the whole unit,[4] and Bells of Steel's change plate pegs page states no capacity at all.[5]
- The maker states the sleeve and its length. Synergee lists a 1.98 in peg for 2 in Olympic plates[1] with 11.8 in of usable sleeve length.[1] Titan lists 50 mm sleeves with 11.25 in loadable on its TITAN Series holders.[2]
- The maker names the rack or upright size, and the mount. Bolt-on and pin-in storage fit differently.
- It is in our approved catalog with a store listing.
Pin-in pegs sold by upright size
Synergee Weight Plate Storage Attachment, pair of pegs (2x2, 2x3 or 3x3)
Pick it if: Owners of 2x2, 2x3 or 3x3 racks storing Olympic plates
- Why it's here
- Synergee rates its plate-storage pegs at 250 lb per peg and 500 lb per pair, lists a 1.98 in peg sized for 2 in Olympic plates with 11.8 in of usable length, and sells versions for 2x2, 2x3 and 3x3 uprights with a 5/8 in / 1 in converter option.
- Watch out
- Synergee's FAQ recommends using the pegs on a rack rated for 750 lb or more. It names upright and hole sizes, not rack models, and its page is inconsistent about whether a tension knob is used. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Synergee.
- Upright outer size
- 2 x 2 in · 2 x 3 in · 3 x 3 in
- Hole diameter
- 5/8 in, or 1 in with the converter version
- Hole spacing pattern
- Not stated
- Locking pin diameter and position
- Pin slides into the rack hole and the peg swings down to lock; the page is inconsistent about a tension knob
Values are the manufacturer's specs unless marked.
Bolt-on sleeves for Titan T-3 and X-3 racks
Titan Fitness Weight Plate Holders for T‑3 and X‑3 Series, set of 4 (SKU 401163)
Pick it if: Titan T-3 and X-3 owners who want four storage sleeves
- Why it's here
- Titan lists this set of four bolt-on 50 mm sleeves for T-3 and X-3 Series racks, mounting 6 in on center with hardware included, and rates each at 330 lb.
- Watch out
- T-3 and X-3 only. Bolt-on, so plan where they go before you load the rack. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Titan.
- Upright outer size
- Not stated
- Hole diameter
- Not stated
- Hole spacing pattern
- Bolt-on, mounts 6 in on center (the side-hole spacing Titan lists for T-3 and X-3, R029, R030)
- Locking pin diameter and position
- Bolt-on with included mounting hardware; bolt size not stated
Values are the manufacturer's specs unless marked.
Pin-in holder for named Sunny racks
Sunny Health & Fitness adjustable weight plate holder attachment (SF‑XFA010)
Pick it if: Owners of the Sunny racks Sunny names, including those with 1 in plates
- Why it's here
- Sunny lists this holder for its SF-XF9925, 9931, 9933, 920063, 921024, 921041 and 922059 racks, with a pin set-up, 1 in and 2 in plates, and up to 100 lb per holder.
- Watch out
- For the named Sunny racks only, and a much lower rating than the others here. Sunny states no sleeve length. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Sunny Health & Fitness.
- Upright outer size
- Not stated
- Hole diameter
- Not stated
- Hole spacing pattern
- Not stated
- Locking pin diameter and position
- 'Smart pin set-up'; pin diameter not stated
Values are the manufacturer's specs unless marked.
Fit at a glance
| Storage | Fits | Mount | Sleeve | Rating as stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Synergee Weight Plate Storage, pair | 2x2, 2x3 or 3x3 uprights | Pin-in, tool-free | 1.98 in, 11.8 in usable | 250 lb per peg, 500 lb per pair |
| Titan Plate Holders for T-3 and X-3, set of 4 | Titan T-3, X-3 | Bolt-on, 6 in on center | 50 mm | 330 lb each |
| Sunny SF-XFA010 | Named Sunny racks | Pin set-up | 1 in and 2 in plates | Up to 100 lb per holder |
Synergee's FAQ also recommends using its pegs on a rack rated for 750 lb or more.[1] Loaded storage adds weight on one side of the rack; follow your rack maker's anchoring instructions.
See the plate storage guide and the storage hub for horn length, bar storage and placement.
Questions
Is a per-pair rating the same as a per-peg rating?
No. Synergee gives both: 250 lb per peg and 500 lb per pair. REP's 1000 Series Weight Storage is rated up to 2,000 lb for the whole unit, with no per-spot rating.[1][4]
Why are Bells of Steel's change plate pegs not on this list?
Bells of Steel's page states no load capacity for them, so we do not treat them as rated storage.[5]