Guide · Plate and bar storage

Rack plate storage: horn length, sleeve size and per-peg ratings

Sleeve diameter, usable horn length and per-peg or per-unit ratings for Titan, Synergee, REP and Bells of Steel rack plate storage, and how to check your plates fit.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money

Short answer

Rack plate storage comes down to three numbers: the sleeve diameter, the usable length and the maker's rating, per peg or for the whole unit. Choose storage its maker lists for your rack series or upright size, check that the usable length holds the plates you own, and never load past the maker's figure. If no rating is published, do not treat it as rated.

The three numbers

  • Sleeve diameter. Olympic plates have 2 in openings. Synergee lists a 1.98 in peg diameter, sized for 2 in Olympic plate openings.[1] Titan's holders use 50 mm sleeves.[2]
  • Usable length. The usable sleeve length is how much of the horn can hold plates. It decides how many plates fit, not the rating.
  • Rating. Some makers rate each peg; one rates the whole unit; some publish nothing. Read the scope with the number, as the load ratings guide explains.

What each maker publishes

Titan TITAN Series weight plate holders. A bolt-on pair with 50 mm sleeves, 11.25 in of loadable length and a 330 lb rating per sleeve.[2] Titan lists them for TITAN Series power racks only; they mount 4 in on center, include mounting hardware, and have a rubber stopper that keeps plates off the rack hardware.

Titan T-2 Series weight plate holders. They hang on the upright by a J-hook pin without tools and have 50 mm sleeves, 8 in of loadable length and a 250 lb rating per holder.[3] Titan lists them for T-2 Series racks. The page title and body give different counts for what is in the box, so check the listing for how many you get. The pin size is not stated.

Synergee Weight Plate Storage. Synergee rates its pegs at 250 lb per peg and 500 lb per pair.[1] Each peg has 11.8 in of usable sleeve length.[1] Synergee's FAQ recommends using the pegs on a rack rated for 750 lb or more.[1]

REP 1000 Series Weight Storage. REP says it fits the PR-1000 and PR-1100 and provides eight chrome-plated 8 in weight horns, 1.8 in in diameter, plus two vertical barbell storage spots, with the whole unit rated for up to 2,000 lb.[4] REP gives no per-horn or per-spot figure, so do not divide the 2,000 lb.

Bells of Steel change plate pegs. They come in Hydra (3x3, 5/8 in holes) and Manticore (3x3, 1 in holes) versions, with three 8 in loadable pegs that bolt on with two bolts. The page states no load capacity.[5] Without a rating, we do not treat them as rated storage.

StorageHostSleeveUsable lengthMaker's rating
Titan TITAN Series holdersTITAN Series50 mm11.25 in330 lb per sleeve
Titan T-2 holdersT-2 Series50 mm8 in250 lb per holder
Synergee pegs2x2, 2x3, 3x3 uprights1.98 in11.8 in250 lb per peg, 500 lb per pair
REP 1000 Series storagePR-1000, PR-11001.8 in horns8 in horns2,000 lb, whole unit
Bells of Steel change pegsHydra or ManticoreNot stated8 inNone stated

Will my bumper plates fit on 8 in horns?

Only you can answer that, with a tape measure. Stack the plates you plan to store, measure the total thickness, and compare it with the maker's usable length: 8 in on the T-2 holders and the REP and Bells of Steel horns, 11.25 in on Titan's TITAN Series holders and 11.8 in on Synergee's pegs. Measure the plates you actually own; we have no plate-width figures to give you.

Is my rack rated for plate storage?

Loaded storage adds weight to the rack itself. Synergee's answer for its own pegs is to use them on a rack rated for 750 lb or more.[1] For other storage, ask your rack's maker whether it lists the storage for your rack.

Storage with a stated rating

Picks that fit4 products

Synergee: choose your upright size (2x2, 2x3 or 3x3) and the converter version if your rack has 1 in holes.

More on choosing

Titan Weight Plate Holders 401163: T-3 and X-3 racks only. Sunny SF-XFA010: the Sunny Powerzone models Sunny names only. Valor MB-J2.0: Valor BD-7 and BD-33 only. On Amazon, check that Ships from / Sold by is Amazon.com or the brand.

Next

Questions

How much weight can rack plate storage hold?

Only what its maker states, in its scope. Titan rates its TITAN Series holders at 330 lb per sleeve, Synergee its pegs at 250 lb per peg and 500 lb per pair, and REP its 1000 Series storage at up to 2,000 lb for the whole unit.[2][1][4]

Will bumper plates fit on 8 in horns?

Measure the total thickness of the plates you want to store and compare it with the usable length: 8 in on Titan's T-2 holders and REP's 1000 Series horns. We have no plate-width figures to answer it for you.[3][4]

Is a rack rated for plate storage?

Ask your rack's maker. For its own pegs, Synergee recommends a rack rated for 750 lb or more.[1]

Do Bells of Steel change plate pegs have a load rating?

The Bells of Steel page states no load capacity for them, so we do not treat them as rated storage.[5]

Sources and changes

  1. Synergee Weight Plate Storage Attachment (Synergee Fitness) · Manufacturer · Product specs and FAQ for Synergee rack plate-storage pegs. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  2. TITAN Series Weight Plate Holders (Titan Fitness) · Manufacturer · Bolt-on plate holder sleeve size, length, per-sleeve rating, count. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  3. T-2 Series Weight Plate Holders (Titan Fitness) · Manufacturer · T-2 compatibility, 50 mm sleeve, 250 lb per sleeve, conflicting pack quantity. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  4. 1000 Series Weight Storage (REP Fitness) · Manufacturer · Rack storage unit: compatible racks, horns, bar spots, unit rating. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  5. Change Plate Storage Pegs (Bells of Steel) · Manufacturer · Change-plate peg variants, peg length, mounting, capacity absence. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 8 Jan 2027.