Shortlist · J-cups and J-hooks

J-cups for 2x2 and 2x3 uprights with the pin size stated

Approved J-cups and J-hooks for 2x2 and 2x3 in uprights whose maker states the pin or hole size, a rating and the racks it fits, with the variant to choose.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money

Short answer

Four approved J-cup pairs for 2x2 and 2x3 in uprights state their pin or hole size and a rating. Synergee covers both tube sizes with a converter for 5/8 in or 1 in holes. Titan's T-3 J-hooks are for T-3 racks, Fringe Sport's 2x3 pair is for racks with 5/8 in hardware, and Sunny's J-hooks are for the Powerzone racks Sunny names.

How we chose

A pair is on this list only if:

  1. The maker states the upright and the pin or hole size, or names the racks. On 2x2 and 2x3 tubing, pin sizes vary more than the tube suggests. REP makes its 1000 Series standard J-cups for 2x2 in uprights with 1 in pins,[1] and Sunny lists a 3/4 in hardware peg hole on its SF-XF9933 half rack.[2] Rogue says its Infinity J-cups fit only its own 2x3 Infinity and R-Series units with 5/8 in pins.[3]
  2. The maker states a load rating, and we keep its scope. Synergee rates a pair at 750 lb combined with both cups at equal heights.[4] Where a maker does not say per cup or per pair, we say so.
  3. The maker states the pin or lock that holds the cup. Titan states a 5/8 in pin for its T-3 J-hooks.[5]
  4. It is in our approved catalog with a store listing.

2x2 or 2x3 J-cups for 5/8 in or 1 in holes

Synergee J-Cups, pair (2x2, 2x3 or 3x3; 5/8 in or 1 in converter)

2x3 in, with 5/8 in / 1 in converter (JHOOKC-2X3)

Pick it if: Owners of 2x2 or 2x3 in racks with 5/8 in or 1 in holes who want sizes and a rating stated by the maker

Why it's here
Synergee sells 2x2 and 2x3 versions of its J-cups with a metal converter so one pair can be set up for 5/8 in or 1 in holes, rates the pair at 750 lb combined with both cups at equal heights, and lists a 3.3 in resting shelf on these sizes.
Watch out
Synergee names upright and hole sizes, not rack models. The 2x3 NC version takes 5/8 in holes only; confirm the converter is in the version you select. The 750 lb is for the pair at equal heights. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Synergee.
Upright outer size
2 x 2 in · 2 x 3 in · 3 x 3 in
Hole diameter
5/8 in, or 1 in with the converter version; 5/8 in only on the no-converter versions
Hole spacing pattern
Not stated
Locking pin diameter and position
5/8 in peg (1 in with the metal converter sleeve), locked with a rear tension knob; peg position not stated

Values are the manufacturer's specs unless marked.

J-hooks made for Titan T-3 racks

Titan Fitness T‑3 Series J-Hooks, pair (SKU 401348)

T-3 Series J-Hooks (pair)

Pick it if: Titan T-3 owners replacing or adding J-hooks

Why it's here
Titan lists these J-hooks for its T-3 Series racks with 2x3 in uprights, states a 5/8 in pin for them in its support answers, and gives a 2,600 lb combined capacity per pair. The hook pins in and rotates down, and the shelf is lined with UHMW.
Watch out
Listed for T-3 racks only. Titan's warranty covers the original retail purchaser who bought directly from Titan, so check with Titan before relying on it for a marketplace purchase. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Titan.
Upright outer size
2 x 3
Hole diameter
11/16Seller claim
Hole spacing pattern
Not stated
Locking pin diameter and position
Pin goes into the upright and the hook rotates down; Titan support lists a 5/8 in pin for JHOOK_T3 (R147)

Values are the manufacturer's specs unless marked.

2x3 J-cups for racks with 5/8 in hardware

Fringe Sport J-Cup 2x3 pair (JCup-FS-Steel-Pair)

2x3 J-cup pair (left and right)

Pick it if: Owners of 2x3 in racks with 5/8 in hardware

Why it's here
Fringe Sport lists this pair for 2x3 in steel racks that take 5/8 in hardware, with a 16.5 mm pin and a 1,000 lb weight capacity per pair.
Watch out
Fringe excludes its own Garage Series Squat Rack with Pull Up Bar ordered June to October 2020, and states no lock beyond the mounting pin. It names no other rack models, so compare your rack maker's hole size first. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Fringe Sport.
Upright outer size
2 x 3
Hole diameter
Racks that take 5/8 in hardware
Hole spacing pattern
Not stated
Locking pin diameter and position
16.5 mm pin

Values are the manufacturer's specs unless marked.

J-hooks for named Sunny Powerzone racks

Sunny Health & Fitness J-Hooks barbell holder, 2‑piece set (SF‑XFA007)

J-Hooks, 2-piece set

Pick it if: Owners of the Sunny Powerzone racks Sunny names

Why it's here
Sunny lists these J-hooks for its Powerzone SF-XF9925, 9931, 9933, 921041, 920020 and 920063 racks, with 2x2 in columns, a 0.79 in bolt and safety latches, and says they hold up to 1,000 lb.
Watch out
For the named Sunny racks only. Sunny does not say whether 1,000 lb is per hook or per pair. Sunny's SF-XF9933 page lists a 3/4 in peg hole while the J-hook listing gives 0.79 in, so confirm with Sunny if your rack is not named. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Sunny Health & Fitness.
Upright outer size
2 x 2
Hole diameter
0.79
Hole spacing pattern
Not stated
Locking pin diameter and position
0.79 in bolt diameter; safety latches (no further detail)

Values are the manufacturer's specs unless marked.

Fit at a glance

PairUprightHoles or pinRating as statedRacks named
Synergee J-Cups, 2x2 or 2x32x2 or 2x3 in5/8 in or 1 in holes (converter versions)750 lb per pair, combined, equal heightsNone; sizes only
Titan T-3 Series J-Hooks2x3 in5/8 in pin2,600 lb combined per pairTitan T-3
Fringe Sport J-Cup 2x32x3 in5/8 in hardware, 16.5 mm pin1,000 lb per pairExcludes one 2020 Fringe rack
Sunny SF-XFA007 J-Hooks2x2 in0.79 in bolt1,000 lb, scope not statedNamed Sunny Powerzone racks

A note on Titan's figures: Titan lists 11/16 in holes on the T-3 rack[6] and a 5/8 in pin on the J-hooks.[5] The hole and the pin are different numbers by design; neither should be swapped for the other.

Also made for these sizes, not yet in our catalog

REP's 1000 Series standard J-cups fit the PR-1000, PR-1050 and PR-1100 and carry a 700 lb rackable capacity.[1] Rogue's Infinity J-cups fit its Infinity and R-Series units only.[3] See the 2x2 and 2x3 J-cup guide and the J-cups hub.

Questions

Will 2x3 J-cups fit my 2x3 rack from another brand?

Only if the cup maker lists it or states your exact hole size. Rogue says its Infinity J-cups are compatible only with 5/8 in Infinity and R-Series units, even though other racks use 2x3 tubing.[3]

Do 2x2 racks always use 5/8 in pins?

No. REP says its 1000 Series standard J-cups are made for 2x2 in uprights with 1 in pins, and Sunny lists a 3/4 in hardware peg hole on its SF-XF9933 half rack.[1][2]

Is a 2x2 in upright the same as 50 mm?

No. A 2x2 in upright works out to 50.8 x 50.8 mm, which is not the same size as a 50 x 50 mm metric tube.[9]

Sources and changes

  1. Standard J-Cups (REP Fitness) · Manufacturer · 1000 Series J-cups: host list, 2 x 2 in / 1 in pin, 700 lb rackable capacity. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  2. Power Zone Half Rack Strength Cage SF-XF9933 (Sunny Health & Fitness) · Manufacturer · SF-XF9933 peg hole diameter. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  3. Extra Infinity J-Cup Set (Rogue Fitness) · Manufacturer · Infinity J-cup pin size and host compatibility (S-Series, R-Series, Infinity). · checked 9 Oct 2026
  4. Synergee J-Cups (Synergee Fitness) · Manufacturer · J-cup sizes, hole converter, per-pair capacity, materials. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  5. Rack Accessories > T-3 Series (Titan Fitness) · Manufacturer · Titan support Q&A table for T-3 Series rack accessories by MPN/SKU. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  6. T-3 Series Power Rack 82" 36" (Titan Fitness) · Manufacturer · T-3 upright size, 11/16 in holes, Westside front pattern, 6 in side pattern. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  7. Warranty (Titan Fitness) · Manufacturer · Titan Fitness limited warranty terms, eligibility and exclusions. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  8. Rack Guide (REP Fitness) · Manufacturer · Upright size, gauge, hole spacing, hardware size for PR-5000, PR-4000, PR-1100, PR-1000 (PR-1050 section truncated). · checked 9 Oct 2026
  9. SI Units - Length (NIST Office of Weights and Measures) · Standard · Definition of the inch as exactly 25.4 mm. · checked 9 Oct 2026
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 8 Jan 2027.