Guide · Surface cleaners

12, 15, 18 or 20 inch surface cleaners: what the makers list

12, 15, 18 and 20 inch surface cleaners side by side: inlet, jets, housing and the rating each maker states. Choose the size your machine's rating supports.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money

Short answer

Choose the deck size your machine's rated output supports, not the widest one. In the makers' lines we read, the 12 in model is listed at 2,300 PSI, the 15 and 18 in models are listed for gas-class pressures, and the 20 in model moves to a 3/8 in quick-connect. Read the stated rating for the exact model before the width.

Size by size

12 in: RYOBI RY31SC12. RYOBI lists a 12 in, 2,300 PSI surface cleaner with wheels and rotating jets that attaches with a 1/4 in quick-connect.[1] RYOBI lists no GPM range, materials or included items. That rating belongs to the RY31SC12 only, not to other RYOBI cleaners.

15 in: SIMPSON 80165. SIMPSON lists its 15 in 80165, now marked discontinued, for cold water from a minimum of 2,200 PSI and 2.3 GPM up to 3,700 PSI, with a 140°F maximum and a 1/4 in quick-connect.[2] SIMPSON describes a powder-coated steel shroud and two rotating jets with stainless steel nozzles.[2]

18 in: DEWALT DXPA34SC. DEWALT lists an 18 in surface cleaner with two rotating jets, rated up to 3,400 PSI, with a 1/4 in quick-connect, for cold water only.[3] DEWALT says it is designed for most gas washers rated up to 3,400 PSI and lists no GPM figure.

20 in: BE 85.403.007. BE rates its 20 in Whirl-A-Way to 180°F, ships it with two 25-degree size 020 nozzles, and connects it with a 3/8 in quick-connect.[4] BE specifies an ABS polymer housing.[4] BE's page gives PSI and GPM figures that conflict and are not labeled as minimum or maximum, so we publish no operating range for it.

Side by side

DeckModelInletJetsStated ratingHousing
12 inRYOBI RY31SC121/4 in QCrotating jets2,300 PSInot stated
15 inSIMPSON 80165 (discontinued)1/4 in QC2 rotating, stainless nozzles2,200 PSI and 2.3 GPM min, 3,700 PSI maxpowder-coated steel
18 inDEWALT DXPA34SC1/4 in QC2 rotatingup to 3,400 PSInot stated
20 inBE 85.403.0073/8 in QC2 x 25-degree, size 020no clear range publishedABS polymer

All rows come from the makers' pages cited above. Blank spots are things the maker does not state.

What the size tells you, and what it does not

A wider deck covers more ground per pass. It does not tell you what the cleaner needs from your machine; only the stated rating does. Two cleaners of the same width can have very different ranges, and some makers state no minimum at all.

Check your machine's rated flow next to the cleaner's numbers. Kärcher says its residential machines range from 1.25 to 2.5 GPM depending on the model.[5] SIMPSON's 15 in 80165 listed a 2.3 GPM minimum, so only the top of that range would reach it. The surface cleaner fit guide walks through electric machines in detail.

Housing materials

SIMPSON's steel shroud and BE's ABS polymer housing are what the makers state.[2] BE's material is a housing material and says nothing about the strength of the rotating joint or other pressure-bearing parts.[4] We make no durability claims for either; we found no controlled comparison.

How to choose

  1. Find your machine's rated PSI and GPM (not the headline maximum).
  2. Keep only cleaners whose stated minimum your machine meets and whose maximum is at or above your machine's pressure.
  3. Match the inlet to your wand's outlet, usually a 1/4 in quick-connect.
  4. Among what is left, pick the width that suits your space.

Approved surface cleaners

Picks that fit3 products

SIMPSON 80625 is a 16.5 in deck; Westinghouse's and Greenworks 5210902 are 15 in decks (the Greenworks kit adds a 12 in extension wand).

More on choosing

All three have a 1/4 in quick-connect inlet. Compare the PSI and GPM range on the maker's page with your machine's rated output before ordering. On Amazon, check that Ships from / Sold by is Amazon.com or the brand.

Next

Questions

What size surface cleaner do I need?

The size whose stated PSI and GPM range your machine's rated output meets. Width comes second: a deck your machine cannot supply is the wrong size however much area it covers.

Is a 20-inch surface cleaner too big for an electric pressure washer?

Compare the ratings. BE's 20 in 85.403.007 connects with a 3/8 in quick-connect and BE publishes no clear operating range, while Kärcher puts its residential machines at 1.25 to 2.5 GPM. Without a stated minimum from the cleaner's maker, the fit cannot be confirmed.[4][5]

Steel or plastic surface cleaner housing?

Makers state the material and nothing more. SIMPSON describes a powder-coated steel shroud on its 80165, and BE specifies an ABS polymer housing on its 85.403.007. Neither tells you about the rotating joint or other pressure-bearing parts.[2][4]

How many jets does a surface cleaner have?

The ones we read have two. SIMPSON's 80165 has two rotating jets with stainless steel nozzles, DEWALT's DXPA34SC has two rotating jets, and BE's 85.403.007 ships with two 25-degree size 020 nozzles.[2][3][4]

Sources and changes

  1. 12" 2300 PSI Surface Cleaner (RY31SC12) (RYOBI / TTI) · Manufacturer · Maker product page for RY31SC12; no GPM range listed. · checked 16 Oct 2026
  2. Universal 15" Pressure Washer Surface Cleaner 80165 (SIMPSON Cleaning) · Manufacturer · Current maker page for 80165, marked DISCONTINUED: PSI/GPM range, temperature, connection, materials; US. Also reached via simpsoncleaning.com/?p=3498, which resolves here (the bible's /index.html URL returned 404). · checked 16 Oct 2026
  3. 18-in Surface Cleaner Pressure Washer Accessory (DEWALT) · Manufacturer · US product page for DXPA34SC surface cleaner. · checked 16 Oct 2026
  4. 20" Whirl-A-Way Pressure Washer Surface Cleaner 85.403.007 (BE Power Equipment) · Manufacturer · Maker product page for surface cleaner 85.403.007. · checked 16 Oct 2026
  5. FAQs (Kärcher North America) · Manufacturer · US service FAQ for residential pressure washers: troubleshooting, flow range, backflow preventer, accessory compatibility pointer. · checked 16 Oct 2026
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 15 Jan 2027.