Guide · Blast gates

Blast gates: sizes, end types, metal vs plastic

Choose a blast gate by the size and fit of its two ends before the body material: what POWERTEC and Infinity state, and why no source compares metal and plastic.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money

Short answer

Choose a blast gate by the size and fit of its two ends first: does each end go inside a hose, into a fitting or over a pipe? Body material comes second. Makers describe their materials and self-cleaning features, but no source in our register measures leakage or clogging, so there is no evidence that metal beats plastic or the other way round.

What a blast gate does

A blast gate is a sliding gate in a short housing. You close it on branches you are not using and open it on the one you are. It has two ends, and each must fit the hose, fitting or pipe on that side.

End size and end type

"4-inch" on a gate is a nominal size. The real question is whether the end goes inside your hose or into a fitting.

  • POWERTEC lists its 70135 gate outlet as nominal 4-inch OD, with an actual size tapering from 3-29/32 to 3-31/32 inches.[1] That is a male end sized to go inside a 4-inch hose.
  • Infinity Tools says its 4-inch gate (SKU 115-313) has tapered fittings on both sides to accept 4-inch hose, and that hose clamps are required. The page does not state the gate's material or its end OD or ID.[2]

If your run is PVC pipe rather than hose, a gate with hose ends needs an adapter on each side. Duct fitting standards explains which.

What makers say about materials and features

POWERTEC describes the 70135 as a cast aluminum body with a steel sliding gate.[1] It says the gate has an open slot in the back for self-cleaning and a locking stop for gate alignment.[1] POWERTEC markets this as a self-cleaning groove design.[1]

Those are design descriptions. The same page makes stronger promises about clogging, maintenance and air leakage that it does not measure, and we do not repeat them.

Are metal gates better than plastic?

We cannot say. No source in our register measures leakage, clogging or wear for metal against plastic gates. Compare what each maker states about the ends, the slide and any slot or stop, and choose by fit.

The gates side by side

GateBodySlideEnd fitStated sizesSource
POWERTEC 70135Cast aluminumSteelMale, into 4 in hoseNominal 4 in OD, tapers 3-29/32 to 3-31/32 inPOWERTEC
Infinity 115-313Not statedNot statedTapered both sides for 4 in hose; clamps requiredNo OD or ID statedInfinity Tools

Gates on our list

Each listing below names its own ends. These descriptions are the seller's sizing, not verified fit, so match them to your hose's inside diameter or your tool's port.

Picks that fit4 products

All four are 4 in gates with ends that go into 4 in ID hose (the seller's sizing). The POWERTEC 70135 listing is a 2-pack of aluminum gates (70135-P2); the 70108 is a single plastic gate; the Rockler metal gate is a single gate; the Rockler Ready-Mount is a 4 in to 4 in gate with a wall bracket.

More on choosing

On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or the brand.

For a tool with a smaller port at the end of a 4-inch hose, Rockler sells a gate with two different ends:

Picks that fit1 product

Choose this 4 in to 2-1/2 in tool gate only if your tool's port is 2-1/2 in OD; Rockler describes the small end as fitting 2-1/2 in OD ports and the large end as taking 4 in ID hose.

More on choosing

On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Rockler.

Clamps on a gate

Use them where the gate maker says so. Infinity says hose clamps are required on its 4-inch gate.[2] Dust hose clamps by outside diameter covers sizing.

Next

Questions

What size blast gate do I need?

One whose ends fit what they join. POWERTEC's 70135 outlet is nominal 4-inch OD, tapering from 3-29/32 to 3-31/32 inches, sized to go inside a 4-inch hose.[1]

Do blast gates fit inside or over the hose?

Check each maker's description. POWERTEC's 70135 outlet is a nominal 4-inch OD end sized to go inside hose, and Infinity says its 4-inch gate has tapered fittings on both sides to accept 4-inch hose.[1][2]

Are metal blast gates better than plastic?

No source in our register measures leakage or clogging for either, so we cannot say. Compare the ends and the features each maker states.

Do I need clamps on a blast gate?

Where the gate maker says so. Infinity says hose clamps are required on its 4-inch blast gate.[2]

Sources and changes

  1. 70135 4" Aluminum Blast Gate (POWERTEC) · Manufacturer · Material, outlet taper and self-cleaning claims for POWERTEC 70135 · checked 14 Oct 2026
  2. Infinity Tools 4" Blast Gate (Infinity Cutting Tools) · Manufacturer · Infinity 4-inch gate SKU 115-313 end style and clamp requirement · checked 14 Oct 2026
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 13 Jan 2027.