Guide · Insert plates

Router table plate sizes: 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 vs 8-1/4 x 11-3/4 in

The two plate outlines makers list, what thickness and corner radius they state, metric equivalents, and why there is no industry-standard opening.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money

Short answer

Most plates and lifts in our sources list a 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in outline, and a smaller 8-1/4 x 11-3/4 in family also exists. INCRA says there is no industry-standard opening size. Match the outline your table maker states first, then the thickness, then the corner radius.

There is no standard opening

INCRA says its lifts and MagnaLOCK plates measure 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in outside and 3/8 in thick, and that there is no industry-standard opening size.[1] So "standard plate" in a listing means the seller's habit, not a rule. The table opening your table maker states decides the fit.

The two outlines in maker listings

JessEm sells its Mast-R-Lift II in both families. Model 02120 has the standard 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in top plate.[2] Model 02121 has a smaller 8-1/4 x 11-3/4 in top plate.[2] The metric 02123 also has a 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in top plate.[2]

INCRA lists its Mast-R-Lift II with a 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 x 3/8 in aluminum top plate.[3] INCRA says a separate version with an 8-1/4 x 11-3/4 in plate is sold only through Rockler.[3] It also says the versions on its page are not compatible with Rockler or Bench Dog tables.[3]

Other makers list the 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in outline too:

  • Woodpeckers' AI890 plate is 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 x 3/8 in.[4]
  • Kreg's PRS5000 lift has a 3/8 x 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in plate.[5]
  • POWERTEC's 71850 plate is 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in and 3/8 in thick.[6]
  • SpeTool's P01002 lift has a 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 x 3/8 in plate.[7]
  • JessEm's Rout-R-Plate has a 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in outline.[8]

On the table side, JessEm's Mast-R-Top has a 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 x 3/8 in insert opening.[9] Kreg's PRS1025 top page lists its plate in metric, 9.5 x 235 x 298 mm.[10]

OutlineThickness statedCorner radius statedMaker and model
9-1/4 x 11-3/4 inNot statedNot statedJessEm Mast-R-Lift II 02120, 02123
8-1/4 x 11-3/4 inNot statedNot statedJessEm Mast-R-Lift II 02121
9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in3/8 in0.750 inINCRA Mast-R-Lift II
8-1/4 x 11-3/4 inNot on INCRA's pageNot on INCRA's pageINCRA version sold through Rockler
9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in3/8 inNot statedWoodpeckers AI890
9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in3/8 inNot statedKreg PRS5000
9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in3/8 inNot statedPOWERTEC 71850
9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in3/8 inNot statedSpeTool P01002
9-1/4 x 11-3/4 inNot statedNot statedJessEm Rout-R-Plate

Thickness

INCRA, Woodpeckers, Kreg, POWERTEC and SpeTool each state 3/8 in for their plates. JessEm's pages for the 02120 lift and the Rout-R-Plate state no thickness. We do not assume one for them; ask JessEm if your table needs a flush 3/8 in plate.

Corner radius

INCRA specifies a 0.750 in corner radius for its Mast-R-Lift II top plate.[3] That figure is INCRA's, for INCRA's version only. JessEm's own pages state no radius. If your opening has tighter or looser corners, the outline alone does not settle fit.

Inch and millimeter

A 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in outline converts to 234.95 x 298.45 mm, and 8-1/4 in converts to 209.55 mm.[11] A 3/8 in thickness is 9.525 mm.[11] That is arithmetic from 25.4 mm per inch, not a fit allowance.[11] Makers' metric labels round, so Kreg's 235 x 298 mm is the same nominal plate written in metric.

Rockler and Bench Dog tables

We could not confirm Rockler's or Bench Dog's own plate sizes or part numbers; the figures are not confirmed from Rockler's own page. What we can say: INCRA and JessEm both sell 8-1/4 x 11-3/4 in versions, and INCRA names Rockler as the seller of its 8-1/4 in version. Measure your opening and ask the table maker before you buy.

Plates and lifts with a stated outline

These approved picks state a 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in outline. They fit only openings the table maker sizes for that outline.

Picks that fit4 products

Choose the 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in plate: JessEm model 02120 (not the 8-1/4 in 02121), the Kreg PRS5000, the SpeTool P01002, or the Kreg PRS4036 plate for Porter-Cable 690/890 and Bosch 1617 bases.

More on choosing

On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or the brand.

Next

Questions

Is there a standard router table plate size?

No. INCRA says there is no industry-standard opening size, although 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in is the outline most makers in our sources list.[1]

What size plate does a Rockler or Bench Dog table take?

We could not confirm it from Rockler's or Bench Dog's own pages. INCRA and JessEm both sell 8-1/4 x 11-3/4 in versions, and INCRA says its 9-1/4 in Mast-R-Lift II versions are not compatible with Rockler or Bench Dog tables.[3][2]

Is a 235 x 298 mm plate the same as 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in?

It is the same nominal plate rounded to whole millimeters. Exact arithmetic gives 234.95 x 298.45 mm; that is a conversion, not a fit allowance.[11][10]

How thick is a router plate?

INCRA, Woodpeckers, Kreg, POWERTEC and SpeTool each state 3/8 in. JessEm's pages for the Mast-R-Lift II 02120 and the Rout-R-Plate state no thickness.[3][4][5][6][7]

Does JessEm's metric Mast-R-Lift II use a bigger plate?

No. JessEm lists the metric 02123 with the same 9-1/4 x 11-3/4 in top plate as the 02120.[2]

Sources and changes

  1. INCRA FAQ (INCRA (Taylor Design Group)) · Manufacturer · FAQ entry on INCRA lift and MagnaLOCK plate outside dimensions, thickness, and INCRA table opening size · checked 13 Oct 2026
  2. Mast-R-Lift II – JessEm Tool Company · Manufacturer · Mast-R-Lift II product page: models 02120, 02121, 02123 (metric), plate outlines, motor groups, included rings · checked 13 Oct 2026
  3. JESSEM/incra mast-r-lift-ii Router Lift (INCRA (Taylor Design Group)) · Manufacturer · INCRA version of the Mast-R-Lift II: plate size, thickness, corner radius, imperial and metric motor lists, table exclusions, CleanSweep adapter note, MagnaLOCK rings · checked 13 Oct 2026
  4. Cast Aluminum Router Mounting Plate (Woodpeckers) · Manufacturer · Woodpeckers plate: dimensions, AI890 and AITRITON router lists, rings, leveling screws, Prop 65 notice · checked 13 Oct 2026
  5. Precision Router Lift (PRS5000) (Kreg Tool Company) · Manufacturer · PRS5000 lift: plate size, travel per revolution, dial markings, included Level-Loc rings, table-fit statements, Q&A · checked 13 Oct 2026
  6. 71850 Aluminum Router Table Insert Plate with Reducer Rings, Leveling Screws, and Starting Pin (POWERTEC) · Manufacturer · 71850 material, size and contents · checked 13 Oct 2026
  7. SpeTool P01002 Router Lift-For Woodworking · Manufacturer · P01002 plate and motor diameter range · checked 13 Oct 2026
  8. JessEm Rout-R-Plate - Premium Phenolic Router Table Insert Plate (JessEm Tool Company) · Manufacturer · Rout-R-Plate 03101/03102: material, outline, included accessories · checked 13 Oct 2026
  9. JessEm Mast-R-Top Router Table Top - Premium Phenolic Router Table Top (JessEm Tool Company) · Manufacturer · Mast-R-Top 03006/03007: top size, insert opening, JessEm compatibility · checked 13 Oct 2026
  10. Precision Router Table Top PRS1025 (Kreg Tool Company) · Manufacturer · PRS1025 dimensions, materials and contents (Kreg 'en' regional page with metric parts) · checked 13 Oct 2026
  11. SI Units – Length (National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)) · Standard · Definition of the inch as exactly 25.4 mm · checked 13 Oct 2026
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 12 Jan 2027.