Shortlist · Cable bars
Lat and row bars with published dimensions
Four approved lat and multi-grip bars whose makers publish the length and grip diameter, with the variant to choose and the connection each one needs.
We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money
Short answer
Four approved bars publish both a length and a grip diameter. Choose REP's 48 in Solid Lat Bar for wide pulldowns, Synergee's Pro-Style bar if you want a 24, 34 or 38 in length with a swivel, Titan's Multi-Grip for listed neutral-grip widths, or Titan's Pro-Duty bar if your cable ends in a lat-bar hook. Budget for a carabiner: REP, for example, ships its bars without one.[1]
How we chose
A bar is on this list only if:
- The maker publishes a length or grip spacing, and says which. These are different measures. REP lists 29 inches between handles on its Pro Series Neutral Grip Lat Bar, with no overall length.[1] American Barbell lists its Revolving Straight Bar as 21 inches long.[2] Bells of Steel's "30 D-Handle Bar" has 25 carabiner holes per side, but "30" appears only in its name and the page gives no length,[3] so it is not on this list.
- The maker publishes a grip diameter. REP lists 28 mm handles on its neutral-grip bar,[1] American Barbell a 25.4 mm grip,[2] and Rogue 32 mm handles on its Rotating V-Grip.[4]
- The connection is stated. Rogue's V-Grip uses a 360-degree swivel and a stainless steel clevis plate;[4] American Barbell's bar attaches by an eye-bolt fastener.[2] We record whether a carabiner is included.
- The product is approved in our catalog. The REP neutral-grip bar, Rogue V-Grip and American Barbell bar above are examples, not approved picks.
Bars carry the load of the cable but none of these makers states a load rating, so this list does not rank by one. Four products met every point on 2026-10-10.
Long straight lat bar
REP Fitness 48" Solid Lat Bar
Pick it if: Wide-grip pulldowns on a high pulley that takes a carabiner
- Why it's here
- REP's page, as recorded in our catalog, gives a 48 in length and a 26 mm diameter with shallow knurling. A 38 in version sits in the same listing family.
- Watch out
- REP lists no load rating and no swivel, and ships it without a carabiner. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or REP Fitness.
- Stated load rating
- Not stated
- Upright size
- Not stated
- Mount hole diameter
- Not stated
- Plate bore fit
- Not stated
Lat bar in three lengths, with a center swivel
Synergee Pro-Style Lat Bar Cable Attachment (Straight 24")
Pick it if: Readers who want a shorter lat bar, or a swivel at the connection
- Why it's here
- Synergee sells straight 24, 34 and 38 in lengths with a center swivel, and its size guide lists a 25 mm bar diameter for every length. Synergee says it clips on with a standard carabiner.
- Watch out
- No load rating is published, and Synergee does not say a carabiner is included. Pick the length on the listing before you add it to the cart. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Synergee.
- Stated load rating
- Not stated
- Upright size
- Not stated
- Mount hole diameter
- Not stated
- Plate bore fit
- Not stated
Multi-grip bar with listed grip intervals
Titan Fitness Multi-Grip Cable Machine Attachment
Pick it if: Neutral-grip pulldowns and rows at several fixed widths
- Why it's here
- Titan lists 30 mm grips across a 47.5 in overall width, with grip intervals of 12.25, 20, 30 and 39.25 in, so you can see the spacing before buying.
- Watch out
- Titan's page lists no load rating and does not state a swivel. Titan lists its weight as 25 lb, so check that your pulley and connector suit it. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Titan Fitness.
- Stated load rating
- Not stated
- Upright size
- Not stated
- Mount hole diameter
- Not stated
- Plate bore fit
- Not stated
Short lat bar for a hook-type connection
Titan Fitness Pro-Duty Lat Pulldown Bar
Pick it if: Machines with a lat-bar hook at the cable end
- Why it's here
- Titan lists a 25.625 in overall length, 6.25 in wide D-handles and 1.25 in knurled rubber grips, on a revolving hanger with a center hook.
- Watch out
- Titan says it fits equipment with a lateral-bar hook; if your cable ends in a carabiner, check the hanger fits before buying. No load rating is listed. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Titan Fitness.
- Stated load rating
- Not stated
- Upright size
- Not stated
- Mount hole diameter
- Not stated
- Plate bore fit
- Not stated
What the dimensions do not tell you
A published length tells you the bar's reach, not which width suits your shoulders. One 2014 study of fifteen men found that narrow and medium grips allowed slightly heavier 6-repetition-maximum lat pulldown loads than a wide grip, with similar overall latissimus dorsi activity across all three.[5] That is one acute study, not evidence that any bar builds more muscle. More in lat pulldown grip width and attachments.
Questions
Is bar length the same as grip spacing?
No. REP gives 29 inches between handles for its neutral-grip lat bar but no overall length, so check which measure a maker gives. See lat bar length vs grip spacing.[1]
Do these bars come with a carabiner?
REP says its 48 in bar does not, and Synergee and Titan do not state that one is included. Plan to buy a carabiner that fits your cable end; REP says its attachments use a standard carabiner-style connection.[6]
Will a narrower bar let me lift more?
In one 2014 study of fifteen men, narrow and medium grips allowed slightly heavier 6-repetition-maximum loads than a wide grip. That is one small study, not a reason to rank bars.[5]