Guide · Cable bars

Lat bar length vs grip spacing and grip diameter

The three lat pulldown bar numbers that get mixed up, overall length, grip spacing and grip diameter, and what each maker publishes or leaves out.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money

Short answer

Three numbers describe a lat bar, and listings often give only one: overall length (end to end), grip spacing (between your hands) and grip diameter (how thick the grip is). Check which one the maker means. A bar must clear your machine at its overall length, while grip spacing and diameter decide how it feels.

The three numbers

  • Overall length: the bar end to end. This is what has to clear your rack uprights or tower frame as the bar travels.
  • Grip spacing: the distance between the grips. It sets how wide your hands are, which is the variable lat pulldown studies change.
  • Grip diameter: the thickness of the part you hold. Makers we read list figures from about 25 mm to 28 mm.

A listing title such as "48 in lat bar" is usually the overall length, but not always. If a page gives one number without saying what it measures, you do not know which it is.

What each maker publishes

REP Pro Series Neutral Grip Lat Bar. REP lists 28 mm handles, a 26 mm bar, 29 inches between handles, and a hard chrome finish with shallow knurling.[1] The page does not say how the 29 inches is measured, for example center to center, and gives no overall length. REP also states that the bar does not come with a carabiner.[1]

American Barbell Revolving Straight Bar. American Barbell lists it as 21 inches long with a 25.4 mm grip, in solid steel with a hard chrome finish, attaching by an eye-bolt fastener.[2] The page gives two different grip lengths in two places, so we do not publish one.

Bells of Steel D-Handle Bar. Bells of Steel's "30 D-Handle Bar Cable Attachment with Carabiners" is a powder-coated bar with 25 carabiner holes on each side, and it includes two carabiners.[3] The "30" appears only in the product name; the page gives no length, so treat the bar's length as not published. You clip handles into the holes to set your own grip spacing, and the handles are sold separately.

Published and missing, side by side

BarOverall lengthGrip spacingGrip diameterCarabiner
REP Neutral Grip Lat BarNot published29 in between handles (method not stated)28 mm handles, 26 mm barNot included
American Barbell Revolving Straight Bar21 inNot published25.4 mmNot stated
Bells of Steel D-Handle BarNot publishedSet by you, 25 holes per sideDepends on the handles you addTwo included

How to choose a length

  1. Measure your machine. Find the clear width between whatever the bar could hit at the top and bottom of the movement: rack uprights, tower frame, a pulley housing.
  2. Compare that with the overall length. If the maker does not publish one, ask before you buy.
  3. Choose the grip spacing for the movement. One study found similar overall lat EMG at three grip widths; see lat pulldown grip width.
  4. Check the connector. Most bars clip on with a carabiner; budget for one if it is not included.

Picks that fit4 products

Choose the length variant that clears your machine. Synergee: 'a) Straight 24 Inch Bar', 'b) Straight 34 Inch Bar' or 'c) Straight 38 Inch Bar'.

More on choosing

REP: '38 Solid Pro-Style Lat Bar' or '48 Solid Lat Bar Pro Style' (REP says it ships without a carabiner). Titan's Pro-Duty bar is one size. Bells of Steel's D-Handle Bar comes without handles, so add a pair. Lengths are the seller's sizing. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or the brand.

Next

Questions

How long should a lat pulldown bar be?

Long enough for the grip you want and short enough to clear your machine's uprights and pulley path. No standard length exists; check the overall length the maker lists against the space on your machine.

What is the difference between bar length and grip spacing?

Overall length is end to end. Grip spacing is the distance between where your hands go. REP's Neutral Grip Lat Bar, for example, lists 29 inches between handles but no overall length, and does not say how the 29 inches is measured.[1]

What grip diameter do lat bars have?

The makers we read list about 25 to 28 mm: REP gives 28 mm handles on a 26 mm bar for its Neutral Grip Lat Bar, and American Barbell gives a 25.4 mm grip for its revolving straight bar.[1][2]

Does a lat bar come with a carabiner?

Some do not. REP states that its Neutral Grip Lat Bar comes without one, while Bells of Steel includes two carabiners with its D-Handle Bar.[1][3]

Sources and changes

  1. Pro Series Neutral Grip Lat Bar Cable Attachment (REP Fitness) · Manufacturer · Maker product page: handle and bar diameters, handle distance, weight, finish, carabiner exclusion. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  2. Revolving Straight Bar Cable Attachment (American Barbell) · Manufacturer · Maker product page: length, grip length (inconsistent), diameter, material, eye-bolt connection. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  3. 30 D-Handle Bar Cable Attachment with Carabiners (Bells of Steel (US)) · Manufacturer · Maker product page: hole layout, included carabiners, finish. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 9 Jan 2027.