Guide · Handles and ropes

D-handles: steel, urethane and strap versions compared by spec

Grip diameter, strap or rigid, length, single or pair and carabiner inclusion for the D-handle cable attachments makers publish specs for.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money

Short answer

Compare D-handles on four published specs: grip diameter, whether the handle hangs from a strap or is rigid, whether the price is for one handle or a pair, and whether a carabiner is included. Makers list grips from 25 mm to 34 mm, and none of the makers we read gives these handles a load rating.

REP's three D-handles

REP sells its D-handle in Steel, Urethane and Pro Series versions, singly or in pairs, and states that a carabiner is not included.[1]

  • Steel: 32 mm grip, on a 10.3-inch nylon strap.[1]
  • Urethane: 34 mm grip, on a 9.5-inch nylon strap.[1]
  • Pro Series: 25 mm grip, rigid with no strap, 5 inches overall.[1]

REP gives the steel and urethane handles a 5.9-inch handle length and publishes no load rating for any of the three.[1]

A strap lets the grip turn and tilt with your hand. A rigid handle keeps the grip in a fixed line with the connector. Neither is shown to be better; it is a feel preference.

Other handles and what their makers publish

Rogue's Rotating V-Grip uses 32 mm anodized aluminum handles, 5 inches long, on a 360-degree swivel.[2] It is a two-hand handle, but its grip diameter is a useful comparison point.

MAG's product page lists nine models by grip with product codes, such as close, medium and wide grips.[3] It publishes no materials, load ratings or connection details, so you cannot compare MAG handles on those points.

PRIME Fitness lists its RO-T8 handles as a pair under SKU 1202742.[4] The page describes a swivel design but gives no dimensions, materials, connector, carabiner inclusion or rating, and it showed the handles as unavailable when checked.

Side by side

HandleGrip diameterStrap or rigidLengthSold asCarabinerRating published
REP Steel32 mm10.3 in strap5.9 in handleSingle or pairNot includedNo
REP Urethane34 mm9.5 in strap5.9 in handleSingle or pairNot includedNo
REP Pro Series25 mmRigid5 in overallSingle or pairNot includedNo
Rogue Rotating V-Grip32 mmRigid, swivel hub5 in handlesNot statedNot statedNot stated
PRIME RO-T8Not publishedSwivel describedNot publishedPairNot statedNo
MAG modelsNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot statedNot statedNo

Which grip diameter to choose

Makers range from about 25 mm to 34 mm. We found no study that ranks one grip diameter above another for cable work. A smaller hand may find a thin grip easier to close; a larger one may prefer a thicker grip. If you already own a barbell or a pull-up bar you like, its diameter is a reasonable reference.

Count the units. A listing priced for one handle and a listing priced for a pair are not the same offer. Add a carabiner if the maker says none is included, and check whether your carabiner fits the handle's loop.

Two-hand alternative: the double D handle

A double D handle puts two parallel grips on one frame for close-grip rows. It is a different attachment from a single D-handle and does not replace a pair for single-arm work. These approved picks are double D handles.

Picks that fit2 products

These are double D (two-grip) row handles, not single D-handles. On Synergee's listing choose 'c) Double D Handle' or 'd) Double D Handle with Grip'; Yes4All sells one chrome Double D.

More on choosing

On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or the brand.

Next

Questions

What grip diameter should a D-handle have?

Makers range from about 25 mm to 34 mm: REP lists 25 mm, 32 mm and 34 mm versions, and Rogue's V-grip handles are 32 mm. We found no study that ranks one diameter above another, so choose by your hand size and comfort.[1][2]

Are D-handles sold in pairs?

It depends on the listing. REP sells its D-handle singly or in pairs, while PRIME lists its RO-T8 handles as a pair under one SKU. Check the unit before you compare listings.[1][4]

Do D-handles come with a carabiner?

Not always. REP states that a carabiner is not included with its D-handle, and PRIME's RO-T8 page does not say either way.[1][4]

Do D-handles have a load rating?

REP publishes none for its D-handles, and MAG and PRIME publish none for their handles. Where no rating is published, none can be quoted.[1][3][4]

Sources and changes

  1. D-Handle Cable Attachment (REP Fitness (Canada)) · Manufacturer · Maker product page (Canada): variants, single/pair, diameters, strap lengths, carabiner not included. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  2. Rogue Rotating V-Grip Cable Attachment (Rogue Fitness) · Manufacturer · Maker product page: swivel, handles, plates, dimensions, origin. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  3. Products (MAG (maxagrip.com)) · Manufacturer · Maker product list with model codes. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  4. RO-T8 Handles | PAIR (PRIME Fitness USA) · Manufacturer · Maker product page: pair, SKU, swivel description. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 9 Jan 2027.