Guide · Bags

Pannier fit: hook sizes, rack tube diameters and e-bike racks

Measure your rack tube, then check the pannier's hook range and inserts. ORTLIEB Quick-Lock and Arkel Cam-Lock ranges, e-bike racks and per-bag load limits.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money

Short answer

Measure your rack's tube diameter, then check the pannier system's hook range and the inserts that come with it. E-bike racks can have thicker tubes that need larger hooks; ORTLIEB offers 20 mm hooks for 17-20 mm tubes, which it says are often used on e-bikes.[1]

Measure your rack tube

Measure the top rail of the rack where the pannier's upper hooks will sit. Calipers give the cleanest reading. Without them, wrap a paper strip once around the rail, measure the length in millimeters and divide by pi (about 3.14). Then check the point lower down where the bag's bottom hook or rail will rest, because some systems state a separate limit for it.

A commuter bike with a standard rack and an e-bike with a heavier rack can need different hooks from the same pannier brand.

ORTLIEB Quick-Lock systems

ORTLIEB sells several Quick-Lock generations, each with its own range:

  • QL2.1: 16 mm upper hooks with inserts for 8, 10 and 12 mm rack tubes.[1] ORTLIEB adds that the 12 mm insert is needed for some Racktime racks.
  • QL2.1 with 20 mm hooks: optional hooks for racks with 17-20 mm tubes, which ORTLIEB says are often used on e-bikes.[1]
  • QL2.2: tool-free hooks for rack tubes from 8 to 16 mm, with a 12.5 kg maximum load.[1] ORTLIEB says QL2.2 is backward compatible with QL2 and QL2.1 bags.
  • QL3.1: a fixing rail that mounts on rack bars up to 10 mm, a lower hook that fits tubes up to 14 mm, and optional E190 brackets for 11-14 mm tubes.[1]

Arkel Cam-Lock

Arkel says its Cam-Lock hooks fit rack tubing of 8 mm to 15 mm in diameter.[2] Arkel also makes an oversized hook set, but we could not read its range on an Arkel page, so we do not state one. Ask Arkel for the oversized range if your rack is thicker than 15 mm.

SystemMaker's stated tube rangeInserts or optionsStated load
ORTLIEB QL2.116 mm hooksInserts for 8, 10, 12 mm; optional 20 mm hooks for 17-20 mmNot stated on the Quick-Lock page
ORTLIEB QL2.28-16 mmTool-free12.5 kg
ORTLIEB QL3.1Rail on bars up to 10 mm; lower hook up to 14 mmE190 brackets for 11-14 mmNot stated on the Quick-Lock page
Arkel Cam-Lock8-15 mmOversized set exists; range not confirmedNot stated

Load per bag

ORTLIEB lists the Back-Roller pair at 20 L per bag with a 9 kg maximum payload per bag on the QL2.1 mounting system it ships with.[3] That is per bag, not per pair. ORTLIEB's page warns against exceeding it.

The rack's own limit applies on top. Our guide to rear racks and load limits covers how the two limits interact.

Weather ratings, with their conditions

ORTLIEB rates the Back-Roller IP64, dust-tight and splash-protected, provided the closure is rolled down three to four times and secured downward.[3] Two things follow:

  • The rating depends on closing the bag the way ORTLIEB describes. Rolled once, it is not the rated bag.
  • IP64 is not an immersion rating. The IP code comes from IEC 60529, which classifies the protection an enclosure provides;[4] its second digit is the water rating.

Read any pannier's weather claim the same way: the maker's rating, under the maker's condition.

Before you buy

We do not list a pannier pick on this page yet. When you shop, look for the hook system's stated tube range and the per-bag payload on the maker's own page, and compare both with your measurements.

Next

Questions

Will panniers fit my rack?

They will if your rack tube falls inside the hook system's stated range. ORTLIEB's QL2.2 hooks, for example, fit rack tubes from 8 to 16 mm, and Arkel says its Cam-Lock hooks fit 8 to 15 mm.[1][2]

How do I measure my rack tube?

Measure the rail where the upper hooks will sit, with calipers or a paper strip divided by pi. Check the lower mounting point too, since some systems state a separate limit for it.

Why don't my panniers fit my e-bike rack?

The rack tubes may be thicker than the hooks allow. ORTLIEB offers optional 20 mm QL2.1 hooks for 17-20 mm tubes, which it says are often used on e-bikes.[1]

Will panniers keep my things dry in the rain?

Only the maker's rating, within its condition, tells you. ORTLIEB rates the Back-Roller IP64 provided the closure is rolled down three to four times and secured downward, and IP64 is not an immersion rating.[3]

How much can I put in one pannier?

Use the stated payload per bag. ORTLIEB lists 9 kg per bag for the Back-Roller pair, and the rack has its own limit too.[3]

Sources and changes

  1. Quick-Lock Systems | ORTLIEB · Manufacturer · ORTLIEB US overview of QL2.1, QL2.2 and QL3.1 mounting systems, tube diameters and QL2.2 load. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  2. Cam-Lock® Complete Kit (Arkel) · Manufacturer · Arkel Cam-Lock hook kit page: rack tube range, track lengths, materials. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  3. Back-Roller Pair (ORTLIEB) · Manufacturer · ORTLIEB US product page, SKU F5305: volume, payload, IP rating, materials. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  4. IEC 60529:1989+AMD1:1999+AMD2:2013 CSV Degrees of protection provided by enclosures (IP Code) (International Electrotechnical Commission) · Standard · Title, edition and scope of the IP Code standard. · checked 14 Oct 2026
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 13 Jan 2027.