Shortlist · Weight-stack adders

Stack adder pins with a stated pin size and limit

Two approved GymPin stack adders, one for 8 mm and one for 10 mm selector pins, with each maker-stated limit and the machine limit that comes first.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money

Short answer

Two approved stack adders state their selector-pin size and a limit, and the choice comes down to your machine's pin. For an 8 mm selector pin, choose the GymPin Original in 8 mm; for a 10 mm pin, choose the KingPin, which GymPin makes in 10 mm only.[1] Either way, the machine's permitted load comes first, and GymPin says its pins do not uprate a machine.[1]

How we chose

A stack adder is on this list only if:

  1. The maker states the stack-end diameter and length. GymPin lists the Original's small end, which goes into the stack, as 102 mm long in 8 mm (5/16 in) or 10 mm (25/64 in).[2] A diameter tells you whether it can fit; GymPin warns against putting an 8 mm pin into a 10 mm hole and says to match the machine's original selector pin.[1]
  2. The maker states a limit for that model. GymPin's Original product page states 60 kg,[3] and GymPin states a 60 kg pin load rating for the KingPin.[1] For comparison, Bare Steel states 135 lb for its 10 mm pin[4] and 100 lb for its separate 8 mm pin,[5] and Torque sells a 2.5 lb magnetic adder pin listed at 2 in diameter and 3 in long.[6] Those are not approved in our catalog.
  3. The maker says the machine comes first. GymPin states that its products do not certify or uprate a machine, that a stronger pin does not raise the machine's rating, and that the machine's permitted load takes priority.[1]
  4. The product is approved in our catalog.

Both picks are GymPin's. Two products met every point on 2026-10-10, and we do not add others to fill the list.

Adder for machines with an 8 mm selector pin

GymPin The Original 2" GymPin (8 mm, Raw)

8 mm stack end, Raw finish

Pick it if: Owners of a machine whose existing selector pin measures 8 mm

Why it's here
GymPin lists the Original's stack end as 102 mm long in 8 mm or 10 mm, a 155 mm by 49.5 mm plate end for 2-inch Olympic plates, and a 60 kg maximum stated load on its product page. This listing is the 8 mm Raw version.
Watch out
Only for an 8 mm selector-pin hole; GymPin warns against an 8 mm pin in a 10 mm hole. The 60 kg never raises the machine's own limit, and the pin is never the selector pin. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or GymPin.
Stated load rating
60
Upright size
Not stated
Mount hole diameter
Not stated
Plate bore fit
2 in Olympic (plate end 49.5 mm diameter)

Values are the manufacturer's specs unless marked.

Adder for machines with a 10 mm selector pin

GymPin KingPin 10mm Weight Stack Extender

10 mm stack end

Pick it if: Owners of a machine whose existing selector pin measures 10 mm

Why it's here
GymPin makes the KingPin in 10 mm only and states a 60 kg pin load rating for it. Its maker page, as recorded in our catalog, lists a 102 mm stack end and a 200 mm by 49.5 mm plate end for 2-inch Olympic plates.
Watch out
10 mm only, so it will not suit an 8 mm machine. The longer plate end needs more clearance; check that plates clear the frame through the full movement. GymPin says not to slam the stack. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or GymPin.
Stated load rating
60
Upright size
Not stated
Mount hole diameter
Not stated
Plate bore fit
2 in Olympic (plate end 49.5 mm diameter)

Values are the manufacturer's specs unless marked.

Before you load it

  • Measure first. GymPin tells buyers to measure their existing selector pin or stack hole, because makers use different diameters across models and years.[3]
  • Check clearance. GymPin advises checking that plates clear the full range of motion, and getting the owner's or maker's permission before using its pins on equipment you do not own.[3]
  • Never use an adder as the selector pin. Bare Steel warns against using its stacked weight pin as a selector pin with added weight.[4]

Questions

How do I know if I need 8 mm or 10 mm?

Measure the selector pin already in your machine. GymPin says makers use different diameters across models and production years, and to match the original pin's diameter.[3][1]

Does the 60 kg rating mean my machine can take 60 kg more?

No. GymPin says its products do not certify or uprate a machine and that the machine's permitted load takes priority. See stack adders and machine load limits.[1]

Can I use the adder as my selector pin?

No. Bare Steel warns never to use its stacked weight pin as a selector pin with added weight. Treat any adder the same way: the machine's own selector pin stays in place.[4]

Sources and changes

  1. Questions about GymPin · Manufacturer · Maker FAQ page: pin sizing and measuring, KingPin rating, machine-capacity and permission statements. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  2. The Original 2" GymPin Black Edition · Manufacturer · UK maker page for the Black Edition Original GymPin: small/large end dimensions, weights, warnings. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  3. The Original GymPin · Manufacturer · UK maker page for the Original 2-inch GymPin: dimensions, materials, stated max load, fit and safety guidance, variants. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  4. 10mm Stacked Weight Pin (Bare Steel Equipment) · Manufacturer · Maker page for the 10 mm stacked weight pin: sleeve, rod options, stated max weight, warnings. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  5. 8mm Stacked Weight Pin (Bare Steel Equipment) · Manufacturer · Maker page for the 8 mm stacked weight pin: sleeve, rod options, stated max weight, warnings. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  6. Weight Stack Adder Pin - 2.5LB (Torque Fitness) · Manufacturer · Maker page for the magnetic 2.5 lb adder: dimensions, material, intended use, Q&A reply. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 9 Jan 2027.