Guide · Weight-stack adders

Add small increments to a weight stack: maker options first

How to add 1.5 to 5 lb to a selectorized stack: the machine maker's own add-on plates first, then a third-party adder, always inside the machine's limits.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money

Short answer

Use your machine maker's own add-on or fractional weights first, because they are made for your stack. Use a third-party adder only where the machine maker allows it. Whatever you add, the machine's own load limit still applies: an add-on never raises what the frame, cables and pulleys may carry.

Why small increments are hard on a stack

A selectorized stack moves in fixed steps, often 10 lb or more per plate. Rogue, for example, offers a 300 lb weight stack for its Monster Slinger in 10 lb increments.[1] Moving up one plate can be a large jump on light exercises. Add-on weights fill the gap.

Start with the machine maker's options

MakerAdd-onWhat the maker says
Force USA (US)6 lb pair of 3 lb steel platesEach splits into 1.5 lb halves; slides onto the stacks of its All-In-One Trainers; retail-only
Force USA (UK)2 x 1.5 kg pairCompatibility verified for F100 V2, X15 Pro, G15, G20 V2 Pro and C10
Inspire5 lb add-on weights for the FTXHow they attach and the handle increment are not stated
REPDrop-down add-ons on the Altitude Cable AttachmentShown in the gallery, amounts not stated

Force USA's US fractional plates come as a 6 lb pair of 3 lb steel plates that each split into 1.5 lb halves and slide onto the top of the stacks of its All-In-One Trainers.[2] The US page says they are sold only at retail locations.

Force USA UK sells a 2 x 1.5 kg pair and lists verified compatibility with the F100 V2, X15 Pro, G15, G20 V2 Pro and C10.[3] The US and UK products are different items; do not convert one into the other.

Inspire lists 5 lb add-on weights as an optional extra for the FTX.[4] The page does not say how they attach.

REP's Altitude Cable Attachment gallery shows drop-down add-on weights, but the page states no amounts.[5]

Third-party adders

Torque Fitness sells a magnetic 2.5 lb Weight Stack Adder Pin in bare steel, 2 inches in diameter and 3 inches long, sold individually.[6] In a product Q&A reply, Torque says its adder pins can hold up to 10 additional pounds.[6] That is a Q&A statement about the adder, not a spec, and it does not increase what your machine may carry.

Add-on plates from other brands are made to sit on a stack, not for a named machine. Check the plate's footprint against your top plate and the spacing of your guide rods before you order, and ask your machine maker whether it allows third-party weights.

The machine's limit comes first

GymPin, which makes stack adders, states that its products do not certify or uprate a machine, that a stronger pin does not raise the machine's rating, and that the machine's permitted load takes priority.[7] Apply the same rule to any add-on: your machine's permitted load is the ceiling. If your manual says nothing about add-on weights, ask the maker before using them.

Stack weight vs handle weight

REP explains that with a 1:1 ratio 20 lb of stack feels like 20 lb, while with a 2:1 ratio it feels like 10 lb.[8] So on a 2:1 machine, do not assume a stack add-on equals the same jump at the handle unless the maker says so. The FTX runs at 2:1, and Inspire does not say whether its 5 lb add-on is stack mass or handle resistance.[4] See 1:1 vs 2:1 cable ratio for why.

Picks that fit2 products

Use these only if your machine maker allows third-party add-on weights. Body-Solid: choose '2.5 lb (WSA2-5)' or '5 lb (WSA5)'; Body-Solid names no compatible machines, so compare the plate's footprint with your top plate.

More on choosing

Power Systems 61999 is a single 5 lb weight; Power Systems says it fits stacks whose guide rods are no more than 3 1/4 in apart, so measure first. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or the brand.

  • Body-Solid Weight Stack Adapter Plate WSA2‑5 (2.5 lb) / WSA5 (5 lb)

  • Power Systems Selectorized Machine Add-On Weight, 5 lb (61999)

Next

Questions

How do I add 2.5 lb to a weight stack?

First check whether your machine maker sells add-on or fractional plates for your model. If it does not, a third-party adder such as Torque's magnetic 2.5 lb Weight Stack Adder Pin is one option, but only where your machine maker allows it and within the machine's own limits.[6][7]

Do fractional plates fit any machine?

No. Makers state fit for their own machines: Force USA UK lists verified compatibility with five named models. Stack plates and guide rods differ, so match the add-on to your model.[3]

Is a 5 lb add-on 5 lb at the handle?

Do not assume so on a 2:1 machine unless the maker says it is. Inspire sells 5 lb add-ons for the FTX, which runs at 2:1, but does not say whether 5 lb is stack mass or handle resistance.[4]

Does an add-on weight raise my machine's capacity?

No. GymPin states that a stronger pin does not raise a machine's rating and that the machine's permitted load takes priority. The same logic applies to any add-on.[7]

Sources and changes

  1. Rogue Monster Slinger (Rogue Fitness) · Manufacturer · Monster Slinger compatibility, hardware, contents, ratio, heights, options. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  2. Fractional Weight Plates (Force USA) · Manufacturer · US maker page: 6 lb pair (3 lb plates splitting into 1.5 lb halves) for All-In-One Trainers. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  3. Fractional Weight Stack Plate Pair for All-In-One Trainers (2 x 1.5kg) (Force USA) · Manufacturer · UK maker page: 2 x 1.5 kg pair with listed compatible models. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  4. FTX Functional Trainer (Inspire Fitness) · Manufacturer · Maker product page: stack sizes, 2:1 ratio, included accessories, optional add-on weights. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  5. Altitude Cable Attachment (REP Fitness) · Manufacturer · Altitude cable attachment heights and gallery-shown add-ons. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  6. Weight Stack Adder Pin - 2.5LB (Torque Fitness) · Manufacturer · Maker page for the magnetic 2.5 lb adder: dimensions, material, intended use, Q&A reply. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  7. Questions about GymPin · Manufacturer · Maker FAQ page: pin sizing and measuring, KingPin rating, machine-capacity and permission statements. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  8. How Do I Choose a Cable Machine (REP Fitness) · Manufacturer · 1:1 vs 2:1 explanation, per-model travel and capacity figures. · checked 10 Oct 2026
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 9 Jan 2027.