Guide · Spindle kits
110 V vs 220 V spindles, kW labels and what the maker requires
The supply, plug and outlet rules each spindle kit maker states, what 1.5 kW and 2.2 kW labels do and do not tell you, and when to call an electrician.
We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money
Short answer
Pick the kit whose stated supply matches the circuit you already have, and have a qualified electrician confirm it. Never adapt a plug or outlet to suit a kit. A kW figure tells you what a maker rates the spindle at; no source we found shows that 2.2 kW is better than 1.5 kW for a given job.
What each maker states
| Kit | Rating | Supply | Plug or outlet rule |
|---|---|---|---|
| Carbide 3D 65 mm ER16 | 1,200 W rated[1] | 110 V, 12 A | 110 V only, not on 220 V, not on a GFCI outlet[2] |
| Carbide 3D 80 mm | Not stated | 220 V VFD | L6-20 plug; chiller on a 110 V NEMA 5-15 outlet[3] |
| PwnCNC 1.5 kW (65 mm ER11, 80 mm ER20) | 1.5 kW | 110 V, 12 A[4] | Not stated |
| PwnCNC 2.2 kW 80 mm ER20 | 2.2 kW | 220 V, 10 A[4] | Not stated |
| Onefinity 65 mm 1.5 kW | 1.5 kW | 110 V[5] | VFD requires a 15 A breaker |
| Onefinity 80 mm 1.5 kW | 1.5 kW | 110 V[6] | VFD requires a 15 A breaker |
| Onefinity 80 mm 2.2 kW | 2.2 kW | 220 V single-phase | NEMA 6-15P plug[7] |
| Genmitsu V2 water kit | 1.5 / 2.2 kW variants | Page states 110 V/60 Hz input only[8] | Not stated |
PwnCNC offers its 1.5 kW kits at 110 V and its 2.2 kW kits at 220 V.[9] Onefinity's Redline pages say the VFD requires a 15 A breaker and warn that a GFCI installation may cause frequent false tripping.[7] Genmitsu sells its V2 water kit in regional variants, but the page states only a 110 V/60 Hz input, so ask Genmitsu which variant matches your country.[8]
Carbide 3D documents the Shapeoko HDM V3 spindle as an 80 mm water-cooled unit offered in 110 V/1.5 kW or 220 V/2.2 kW configurations.[10] That shows one maker pairing the two ratings with the two supplies; it is not a machine recommendation.
Is 2.2 kW better than 1.5 kW?
No source we found establishes that. What the sources do show is that the higher rating often brings a 220 V supply and, in Onefinity's and PwnCNC's lines, an 80 mm ER20 body. Compare the supply you have and the collet you need.
Router HP labels are not kW
Makita labels the RT0701C at 1-1/4 HP maximum horsepower.[11] DeWalt markets the DWP611 as "1-1/4 HP MAX".[12] Those labels keep their "maximum" qualifiers. We do not convert them into kW or compare them with a spindle's rating.
Can I run a 220 V spindle on 110 V?
No. Buy a kit whose stated supply matches your circuit. Do not change a plug, use an adapter or rewire an outlet to make a kit fit.
Why won't my spindle run on a GFCI outlet?
Carbide 3D states that its 65 mm kit does not work on a GFCI outlet.[2] That is the maker's statement about its kit. Never remove a GFCI to make a kit run. Ask a qualified electrician and the kit maker how to meet both the maker's rule and your local code.
Grounding and listed components
OSHA's woodworking electrical-hazards eTool lists electrocution, fire and explosions as electrical hazards, and calls for grounding machine frames and using NRTL-approved electrical components.[13] It is written for workplaces, not as home-wiring instructions. Our guide to UL, ETL, CSA and CE marks explains what those marks mean.
No spindle kit is approved in our catalog yet. Whichever supply you choose, the kit's collet system decides which collets it takes. These collet sets are approved, and each fits only its own system:
Picks that fit2 products
Match the set to the collet system printed on your spindle: the ER11 set (the 15-piece set adds 1/8 and 1/4 in) for ER11 spindles such as PwnCNC's 65 mm kit, the ER20 14-piece set (1/16 to 1/2 in) for ER20 spindles such as PwnCNC's 80 mm kits.
More on choosing
Neither fits an ER16 spindle such as Carbide 3D's current 65 mm kit.
ER11 set with metric and inch sizes
Genmitsu ER11 precision spring collet set, 7 or 15 pieces (1‑7 mm; 15‑piece adds 1/8 in and 1/4 in)
ER20 set up to 1/2 in
Genmitsu ER20 router collet set, 14 pieces (1/16 in to 1/2 in)
Next
Questions
Is 2.2 kW better than 1.5 kW?
No source we found establishes that. Compare what each kit documents: its supply and its collet system. In Onefinity's and PwnCNC's lines, 2.2 kW comes at 220 V.[7][9]
Can I run a 220 V spindle on 110 V?
No. Buy a kit whose stated supply matches your circuit, and never change a plug or outlet to make a kit fit. A qualified electrician decides what your circuit can supply.
Why won't my spindle run on a GFCI outlet?
Carbide 3D states its 65 mm kit does not work on a GFCI outlet, and Onefinity warns that a GFCI may false-trip with its VFD. Never remove the GFCI; ask a qualified electrician and the kit maker.[2][7]