Shortlist · Scales and weighing

Best espresso scales with a timer and 0.1 g readout

Two rechargeable espresso scales with timers and 0.1 g steps: which to order for your drip tray, and what listings do not prove.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. How we make money

Any scale that reads in 0.1 g steps, has a timer and fits on your drip tray will do the job. MHW-3BOMBER's rechargeable 2 kg scale is the brand-store pick; the unbranded 3 kg scale is the one to choose if you also weigh larger brews. All specifications here are the sellers' claims, and we found no accuracy figure on either listing. If you would rather buy a named brand on Amazon, TIMEMORE's Black Mirror Basic 3.0 is an option, but we have not read a TIMEMORE spec for it, so check its figures before you rely on them.

18.0

Best brand-store scale for espresso

MHW‑3BOMBER rechargeable espresso scale (2 kg / 0.1 g)

3.0 pro, black · Sold by MHW-3BOMBER Official Store on AliExpress

Pick it if: Weighing dose and yield on most home espresso machines

Why it's here
Rechargeable, with a timer, 2 kg capacity and 0.1 g steps (the seller's figures). Sold by a store named MHW-3BOMBER Official Store; the brand also sells scales on its own site.
Watch out
We found no accuracy or repeatability figure on the listing, so treat 0.1 g as the display step. A smaller 3.0 mini pro is also sold; compare its dimensions with your drip tray.
Basket size family (listed)
51 · 53-54 · 58
Workflow step
weighingSeller claim
Measured basket fit diameter
Not stated
Nominal size label
Not stated

Values are from our research unless marked.

18.0

Best for espresso plus larger brews

Rechargeable coffee scale with timer (3 kg / 0.1 g)

3 kg capacity · Sold by Six Seasons Store

Pick it if: Readers who also brew pour-over or weigh larger amounts

Why it's here
3 kg capacity with 0.1 g steps, a timer and USB charging (the seller's figures), so one scale can cover espresso and pour-over.
Watch out
An unbranded scale from a general store; accuracy is unverified. Check its dimensions against your drip tray before ordering.
Basket size family (listed)
51 · 53-54 · 58
Workflow step
weighingSeller claim
Measured basket fit diameter
Not stated
Nominal size label
Not stated

Values are from our research unless marked.

Which model to order for your setup

A scale has no machine-specific fit, but it does have to fit your machine's drip tray, with a cup on top, under the portafilter. Measure the tray's width and depth and the gap from the tray to the bottom of the portafilter before you order.

Your setupOrderWhy
Espresso only, on a machine with a small drip trayMHW-3BOMBER 3.0 mini proThe smaller of MHW-3BOMBER's two models by name; compare its listed dimensions with your tray first
Espresso only, standard drip trayMHW-3BOMBER 3.0 pro, black or white2 kg capacity and 0.1 g steps (the seller's figures), from a store named MHW-3BOMBER Official Store
Espresso and pour-over3 kg rechargeable scale3 kg capacity (the seller's figure), 1 kg more than MHW-3BOMBER's 2 kg
Bottomless portafilter, little clearanceWhichever is thinner on the listingEvery millimeter under the basket counts; measure with your cup in place

How we chose

  • 0.1 g steps. At the 18 g dose Breville gives for the Bambino, one step is about half a percent of the dose; at the Dual Boiler's 22 g dose it is less.[1][2]
  • A built-in timer, so weight and time read together.
  • Rechargeable, with no batteries to buy.
  • A brand-store option. MHW-3BOMBER's scale comes from an AliExpress store named MHW-3BOMBER Official Store (the name alone does not show the brand runs it), and the brand sells scales on its own site too.[3] The 3 kg scale is unbranded and sold by a general store; we name the store on the pick so you know who you are buying from. The TIMEMORE is sold on Amazon, where other 'Basic 3' listings come from other sellers, so check that the seller is TIMEMORE or Amazon.com.
  • Checked on 2026-10-06 with US shipping. Capacity, readability and features are the sellers' claims; we have not checked accuracy.

What the numbers on a listing mean

Readability is not accuracy. Acaia's manual for its Lunar scale lists readability (0.1 g), repeatability (0.1 g) and linearity (one 0.1 g step) as separate specifications.[4] Read the "0.1 g" on the two AliExpress listings as the display step. We found no repeatability or linearity figure on either, and a scale can read in 0.1 g steps and still drift.

That still makes them useful for espresso. What you need most is consistency from shot to shot on the same scale: weigh, note the number, and compare. In Socratic Coffee's tamping study, brew weight drove the differences in strength (TDS), so the weight in the cup is the number to track.[5] The ratio calculator turns your dose into a target yield.

Water

Espresso drips onto whatever sits under it. We found no water-resistance rating for any of these scales, and even Acaia's Lunar manual gives none and says to clean the scale with a soft cloth and warm water only.[4] Wipe spills promptly and keep the charging port dry.

Skip these if

  • Your kitchen scale already reads in 0.1 g steps and fits on your drip tray.
  • You need a published accuracy figure. We found none for any of these scales.
  • Your drip tray is too small for the dimensions on the listing; measure first.

For more on readability, repeatability and accuracy, see espresso scale accuracy vs resolution and the scales overview.

Questions

Is 0.1 g resolution enough for espresso?

Yes for home use. At the 18 g dose Breville gives for the Bambino, one 0.1 g step is about half a percent. Remember that resolution is not accuracy: Acaia lists readability, repeatability and linearity separately.[1][4]

Why weigh the shot instead of timing it?

Because the amount of espresso in the cup changes its strength. In Socratic Coffee's tamping study, brew weight, not tamp force, drove the differences in TDS. Time is still worth noting alongside weight, which is why both picks have a timer.[5]

Are these espresso scales waterproof?

We found no water-resistance rating for any of them, so wipe spills promptly. Even Acaia's Lunar manual gives no rating and says to clean the scale with a soft cloth and warm water only.[4]

Will the scale fit under my portafilter?

Measure two things first: the drip tray's width and depth, and the gap from the tray to the bottom of the portafilter with a cup in place. Then compare them with the dimensions on the listing.

Sources and changes

  1. Bambino - Compact Espresso Machine (Breville) · Manufacturer · Breville Bambino BES450 (US): 54 mm portafilter, 18 g dose, dual and single wall filters. · checked 6 Oct 2026
  2. Dual Boiler Espresso Machine (Breville) · Manufacturer · Breville Dual Boiler BES920 (US): 58 mm stainless steel portafilter, 22 g dose. · checked 6 Oct 2026
  3. Products - MHW-3BOMBER · Manufacturer · MHW-3BOMBER first-party store, all products: distributors, tampers, dosing cups, baskets, bottomless portafilters, scales, knock box, milk pitchers. · checked 6 Oct 2026
  4. Acaia Lunar User Manual (AL008 / AL009 / AL010) · Manufacturer · Acaia Lunar manual (2024, FW 1.0.016): specifications (capacity, readability, repeatability, Bluetooth 5.0, battery), cleaning and error codes; no water-resistance rating. · checked 6 Oct 2026
  5. The Impact of Tamping Pressure on Espresso Extraction (Socratic Coffee) · Independent source · Controlled experiment (July 2015): 5, 10, 15 and 20 kg tamps, 10 shots each, 20 g in / 40 g out; TDS vs tamp pressure and brew weight. · checked 6 Oct 2026
  6. MHW-3BOMBER rechargeable espresso scale listing (MHW-3BOMBER Official Store) · Seller listing · 3.0 pro (black or white) and 3.0 mini pro; 2000 g capacity and 0.1 g as listed; viewed with US shipping on 2026-10-06 · checked 6 Oct 2026
  7. Rechargeable coffee scale with timer listing (Six Seasons Store) · Seller listing · 3 kg capacity, 0.1 g, timer and USB charging as listed; viewed with US shipping on 2026-10-06 · checked 6 Oct 2026
  • : First published.
  • : Store names are now quoted as names, not as proof the brand runs the store.

Next editorial review due 6 Jan 2027.